USB2.0 vs Firewire 800

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by msb65, Feb 27, 2009.

1. msb65 macrumors member

Hi Everyone,

Here is some pertinent background info:

1) I am a longtime musician interested in learning how to do some home recording. The type of recording will vary from just me and a guitar, to me drumming, to me and my band. In other words, given the situation I will need to be able to record 2 - 6 tracks simultaneously.

2) I am in need of a new mac laptop.

Regarding #1 I believe I need to get a suitable audio interface. As I understand it these typically use either USB2.0 or Firewire 800 to transfer data. From my internet searching I have also come to understand that there are arguments for and against either technology. My initial impression is that more people favor Firewire 800. However, all the posts I have read are a few years old, and rarely identify whether they are comparing USB1.0 or 2.0 to Firewire 400 or 800.

Could somebody please explain to me which technology is better for home recording, and why? Given current processor speeds etc. is there really even a difference? The reason I ask is that I do need a new laptop. I would love to get a MB, but of course they lack Firewire.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Mike

2. Teej guy macrumors 6502a

I think they would be comparing USB 2.0. I don't know of any USB 1 audio devices.

It seems that the fact of the matter is that USB just can't hold sustained data transfer like even Firewire 400 can, and therefore Firewire allows for more tracks, more reliability, and better performance.

3. msb65 thread starter macrumors member

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. I read that as well. Is there a particular firewire audio interface that you could recommend that has good OS X drivers?

4. nick9191 macrumors 68040

Both Firewire 800 and 400 are faster than USB 2.