Use 3gs as iPod with no sim

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by vmachiel, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. vmachiel macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #1
    Hi forum,

    i've got my hands on a iphone 3gs with iOS 5.0 of 5.0.1 (not sure which) running on it. It is completely clean and acts as a new phone when i turn in on. But it keeps asking for a sim and won't let me do anything.

    Is it possible to activate and use it without a sim? I've only got a microsim for my 4S and that obviously doesn't fit in the 3gs. I could only find tutorials where a sim was required.

    Thanks for the help
     
  2. normanbates macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #2
    You need the sim. Unless you put it into DFU mode and hactivate it
     
  3. vmachiel thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #3
    Ok let's say i get a sim. Once it's set up, can i take it out and turn the iphone on and off without it asking for the sim?
     
  4. mrquin27 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
  5. normanbates macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #5
    Yes. It only needs the SIM for activation an cellular network stuff. You can even associate your Apple ID with it for iMessage when connected to WiFi
     
  6. rowley macrumors 6502

    rowley

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Got a 3gs 16mb with a sim socket fault. Redsn0w and 5.1 jailbreak worked a treat to get around the activation.
     

Share This Page