Use a Mac videocard in a PC?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ventro, Aug 19, 2009.

  1. ventro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #1
    is it possible to take my old 2600 XT from my Mac Pro and stick it in a PC?
     
  2. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #2
    Why not try it? Worst thing could happen is the screen doesn't come on! Though if it's taken from a MacPro, it should work fine!!!
     
  3. ventro thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #3
    After doing a couple searches, it looks like it's a no-go. (The PC arrives tomorrow, UltraNEO. I will still try it, though)

    Looks like I will have to put my 3870 Mac and PC Edition in the PC and put the 2600 XT in the Mac Pro until the 5870 comes out. Can I just pop in the 2600 back in to the Mac Pro without doing any driver installation? The drivers are already in Mac OSX right?
     
  4. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #4
    It should work fine, that's what I've been doing for the last year or so with my PC.
     
  5. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    Why you think it's a "no go" ? The 2600HD works with bootcamp, therefore it'll work fine in a PC. And, yup, just uses the standard ATI drivers which are in Leopard.
     
  6. ventro thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    #6
    Thanks for the info. This was the thread I was referring to:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=59385

    Though, I see that it's dated 2004 so it's pre-Mac Pro. But I assumed the essentials are the same; that Macs need an EFI rom on the videocard to boot, before the OS even loads. But who knows, I'll try it tomorrow and find out for sure.
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Some versions of Windows (Vista & Win7) are capable of operating on EFI firmware based machines, and if you're running as a hack, EFI is still what OS X sees (i.e. EFI Emulator).

    Perhaps Guiyon could post which version of Windows is installed. ;)
     
  8. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #8
    I was using Windows XP but I recently upgraded to Vista; both of the systems worked fine with the standard Catalyst driver package from ATI. This was on an ECS G33T-M2 motherboard and the card was a pull from my Early 2008 Mac Pro.
     
  9. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #9
    :cool: So it does actually work with XP as well. :)
     
  10. raziel777 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    #10
    GT 120 out of 09 mac pro works in optiplex gx620 from 2007. Tried it today.
    Windows 7
     
  11. dusanv macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #11
    My 4870 works like a hoot in a PC. No problems.
     

Share This Page