Use an Airport Express as an invisible LAN cable to a Time Capsule?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by alfmil, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. alfmil, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016

    alfmil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    #1
    My current setup works perfectly, but I need to change it.

    I don’t need to extend the range, just want to use the AE in place of a long LAN cable from the modem to the TC (running a cable is not feasible).

    If so, do I just set it up in the reverse of the instructions for using an AE to extend a TC? Or...?

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. AngelOfSoul macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
  3. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #3
    You can extend a Time Capsule network with an Express, but I don't think the opposite will work.

    If you can't safely secure the TC in the location where the Internet comes in, you could use a set of powerline Ethernet adapters to jump the Ethernet to the TC's location.

    Or, you could use your AirPort Express to serve up wifi from the modem, and then get a Wifi Gaming Adapter to grab that wifi signal and feed it to the WAN port on your Time Capsule. You'd have two separate wifi networks doing that, but it would work.
     
  4. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #4
    AFAIK Airport Express, Airport Extreme and Time Capsule act the same way wrt WiFi and Router/Internet functions (depending on versions).
     
  5. FreakinEurekan macrumors 68040

    FreakinEurekan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    Eureka Springs, Arkansas
    #5
  6. alfmil, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016

    alfmil thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009

Share This Page