Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shenti

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2015
Hi there!

I'm a complete AppleScript newbie. The only reason I'm trying to use it now is because I want to use VLC as my alarm clock to wake me up with a set playlist and volume every morning. The simplest way I've found on Google to do this is to make iCal run a script. I found a script for iTunes online and modified it a bit to suit my needs:

tell application "VLC (2.0.3)"
activate
set
sound volume to 100
play "/Users/Adriana/Desktop/Favs.m3u"
end tell

(Favs.m3u is the name of the playlist I want it to play and it's located on my desktop. The volume I want will be very high, but I might have to experiment with this because I don't want to wake up with a heart attack :p )

When I run the script I get this error:

error "The variable volume is not defined." number -2753 from "volume"

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong, i.e. correct the script so I can use it? I'm using OSX 10.7.5 if that helps.

I know eventually I would like to learn AppleScript, but right now I'm just looking for he quick fix to start using VLC as my alarm... Any help would be nice :)

shenti

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 4, 2015
This is what you want (assuming you want the volume at 100%).

Code:
set volume output volume 100

Thanks Weaselboy. It kind of worked, but the file is not opening. I get this from VLC: see attached image

If I choose the right file through that VLC window then it opens at the right volume, but I need it to open directly from iCal so it can work as an alarm... any ideas on what else could be wrong? Code looks like this:

activate
set volume
output volume 100
end tell

Attachments

• 2015-12-11 01.13.44 pm.jpg
    2015-12-11 01.13.44 pm.jpg
    94.1 KB · Views: 297

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California