Use both HDMI and Thunderbolt for external monitors

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by karohan, Jun 15, 2012.

  1. karohan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #1
    Can the new Macbook Pros use both the HDMI and Thunderbolt (with an HDMI adaptor) to have two external monitors running simultaneously in addition to the laptop screen?
     
  2. karohan thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #3
    There was recently a post on the Macrumors home page about how the retina MBPs were shown to run two Cinema Displays and an external HDMI monitor. This makes sense, but are you sure you can run three non-cinema display monitors (using thunderbolt to hdmi converters)?
     
  3. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    Yes.
     
  4. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #5
    How and with what?
     
  5. aliennerd macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #6
    Here you go, I did post this on another thread:-

    [​IMG]

    ----------

    Sorry, my bad, these are of course mini display port monitors plus HDMI.
     
  6. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #7
    Ah sugar, I read this wrong.

    Multi-tasking and men = no good.

    I meant running x3 none apple monitors.
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    What monitors are you planning to run and what inputs do they have?

    ----------

    You can do this. I connect a Dell U2412m to my thunderbolt port on my MBA and Mini (using a miniDP to DVI adaptor ) or to the HDMI out on my mini. I can also connect a Dell to the HDMI port and an ACD to the thunderbolt port at the same time.

    On the rMBP you have three outputs (2x TB and 1 x HDMI) and you can connect any modern monitor to a thunderbolt port

    That means you can connect any two displays via the TB ports (using miniDP to DP or miniDP to DVI or miniDP to HDMI connectors) and then another display using the HDMI port.
     
  8. gabicava83 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    #9
    How's CS treating you ;)?

    It does have three outputs, but I want to use ethernet too.

    So can only use two.

    Anyhow, thanks for the info, you are right though :)
     
  9. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #10
    I finished my degree 11 years ago. I was just reminiscing about the good, old days in the other thread.

    You're quite right. If you want to use another TB dongle , then you're stuck.
     

Share This Page