Use for Apple Remote Menu Button in 10.7?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by GuitarG20, Oct 24, 2011.

  1. GuitarG20 macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #1
    Hey all,

    Does anyone know anything that I can do with the menu button on my apple remote in 10.7? Currently it does nothing.

    I would like something like FrontPage (which doesn't work with Lion as far as I know) to play my iTunes music with the remote. Does anyone know anything that does this?

    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  2. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #2
    I believe you mean Front Row.

    Front Row works in Lion if you do the following.

    1) Copy the required files from a Snow Leopard install, or get them from somewhere. This is more than just the Front Row app from the Applications folder.

    2) Set up a local share of your iTunes library.

    Once Front Row is (re)installed, the remote will work swimmingly and Front Row will launch.

    However, you'll notice it won't find your music library. Pictures and videos should work fine. However, in order to get your music, you'll have to "share your library with yourself", go to sources on the main menu and voila, your music is there, albeit with missing album art.
     
  3. GuitarG20, Oct 24, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011

    GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #3
    Front Row, thank you.

    So would it work if I used the installer listed here: Get Front Row for OS X Lion

    and then followed the extra instructions you gave me?
     
  4. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
  5. GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #5
    I followed all the instructions, including the ones about making the dupe file to get Front Row to access to, and it still didn't work... maybe I should just give up ><
     
  6. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #6
    Do you have iTunes open? Is sharing enabled in iTunes?
     
  7. GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #7
    yes and yes, but i also have a password on it because I live in a dorm with many computers all on the same network... does that affect it? also I keep getting an error like this when I try to manually enable it...

    [​IMG]
    I'm assuming I'm doing something wrong...
     
  8. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    Try the very first command listed in the article and see if it works for you then.

    If that works, it should work "permanently" by using one of the commands in the comments. I suggest the one posted by "richiesmit".
     
  9. GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #9
    This works, but only when i set my library to public, which isn't ideal because I am running on a Wi-Fi network with about 150 other students...
     
  10. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
    Ahh, that may not quite be the solution for you then. I'm afraid there isn't any other way at this point.
     
  11. GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #11
    well, by public i mean it doesn't seem to work when i set a password, which is kinda necessary...still no solution?
     
  12. SideStepSociety macrumors 6502

    SideStepSociety

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    In theory, it SHOULD work. I'm not sure if Front Row was able to connect to password protected shares pre-Lion/iTunes 10.4.

    But assuming Front Row could read protected shares, then perhaps the conflict lies in how the shares are protected in newer versions of iTunes.
     
  13. GuitarG20 thread starter macrumors 65816

    GuitarG20

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    #13
    yeah it's weird... when I secure the library, the option to connect to it doesn't even show up. it must be some problem with authentification or something.
     

Share This Page