Use iPad micro sim in iPhone 4?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by hohohong, Oct 12, 2010.

  1. hohohong macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #1
    I’ll be heading down to US for a trip. I have an At&T micro sim from iPad that I bought in US. I’m wondering if I can use that micro sim and use it for the data plan only on my factory unlock iPhone 4?
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Yes.
    You will have to edit the apn settings by installing a custom profile using unlockit.co.nz
     
  3. hohohong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #3
    Thanks for your reply!

    So I just need to create AT&T profile:

    wap.cingular
    wap@cingulargprs.com
    CINGULAR1

    I should do this when I have internet access first before popping At&T micro sim in right?

    Or will AT&T disallow me to use iPad micro sim on my iPhone just because ipad plan is specially designed for iPad, not iPhone?
     
  4. hohohong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #4
    My main objective is to be able to get online during my trip in US with the least possible cost.

    Since I already have a AT&T micro sim from iPad (iPad itself is gone, not mine) and an unlocked iPhone 4, I’m thinking to use AT&T $25 2GB iPad plan. But will I be able to use it with iPhone 4?

    If not, what other alternative do I have? Prepaid GoPhone plan with data is min $75.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Yes you will be fine.
    Many others are using it like that.

     
  6. hohohong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #6
    Thanks Applejuiced.

    So when I got back to Canada, do I have to manually go to that unlockit site to download my Canadian APN or it’ll automatically do it when I plug in my Canadian micro sim?
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    You have to manually do it yourself, you will not be able to pull any data untill you do that.

     
  8. hohohong thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #8
    Thanks Applejuiced! You’re macrumours demi god!
     
  9. swizard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    #10
    iPad 2 SIM into iPhone 3GS

    I am considering buying an iPad 2 3G/WiFi very soon. And I will be travelling in the USA for a month or two. For use during that time, I was wondering if I can buy the iPad, activate it's data plan, and then use a micro->normal SIM tray and use the iPad SIM on my iPhone 3GS for purely data purposes only. I understand there will be no voice services.

    Can someone please confirm it or deny it's possibility? And if it's possible, how can I go about making this happen. I have read things about changing APNs or something. I also read that it apparently doesn't work any more or something. I don't know for sure what the current status of this is nor how to do it.

    Of course I want to do this with no penalties fees etc. I have read of individuals using their iPhone 4 data plan on a iPad, but then when they put their iPhone SIM back into their iPhone they get a notification from AT&T, saying they need to buy a plan, and then they get charged, etc. But in my situation it's iPad to iPhone so can there still be trouble with AT&T?

    Please help me out, as I will be arriving in USA very shortly.

    Thank you!
     

Share This Page