Use Mac OS X Tiger Server as a home computer OS?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by xTRIGGER092x, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. xTRIGGER092x, Nov 20, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2011

    xTRIGGER092x macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #1
    So, I was needing a copy of Tiger for an old eMac and over the weekend I talked to an acquaintance who offered to sell me a copy of it (and the official Apple technicians manuals for it and a disc of free apps) for $40, but here's the catch: it's the Server version. He told me I can use it as a desktop OS, but how? I have no intention of using a server, so is there a way to skip that process?
     
  2. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    What process?
     
  3. seveej macrumors 6502a

    seveej

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    #3
    I guess what the poster is trying to say is that Tiger Server is basically a desktop-server hybrid. So if you install it, you'll be getting the desktop OS, with the option of activating/deactivating (can't remember the default choice for 10.4 Server) server specific services.

    Pekka
     
  4. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #4
    The only major difference you will probably notice is that you have enter a serial number and go through a couple configuration screens upon installing the software, AFAIK there is no way to skip that. Other than that, you will have a couple more apps in your Applications directory and the default dock for a new user will be different, but beyond that it will function just like a normal Tiger machine.
     
  5. xTRIGGER092x thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #5
    If I can't skip the server configuration stuff, what am I supposed to enter in those fields?
     
  6. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #6
    Yup, just don't configure anything in the Server Manager, and you won't notice the difference between it and the "desktop" version.

    Although at this point, Tiger is getting a bit long in the tooth, with lots of software no longer supporting it, including the latest versions of Safari and Firefox. Finally, the hardware that can run Tiger is likewise getting a bit long in the tooth, and depending on what you're going to do with it, may be a bit slow for current use. (Obviously, even an early Mac Pro should be fine, but for example an original MacBook Pro is starting to 'feel slow' with modern software.)

    For the initial configuration, just tell it you don't want to activate any of the server items, and you'll be good.
     
  7. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #7
    It's been a while since I installed Tiger Server, so I cannot tell you exactly what it will ask, but basically it will ask what kind of services you want to configure, just say none and you should be good. Probably the most important question will be whether or not you want to set up open directory, just choose the "standalone server" option and you should be fine.
     
  8. xTRIGGER092x thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #8
    I'm very well aware it won't be a speed demon, but I think it should do okay for browsing (and browsing only). I'm gonna max it out with 1GB of RAM and do this upgrade to Tiger, and that should help a lot. Granted, I can't upgrade the 700MHz processor, but RAM has more of an impact on speed than the processor.

    And I won't be using Safari or Firefox; there's a browser called TenFourFox which is essentially Firefox 4 for PPC and should be able to load sites fine.
     
  9. xTRIGGER092x thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    #9
    Alright, thanks. But if I choose this standalone server option, would a server actually be running in the background, eating up my resources? Considering I'll only have 1GB of RAM and the min. requirements is 512MB, it worries me if that's the case (I don't want to take a performance hit in an already weak system).
     
  10. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    MacOS X Server is MacOS X with extra utilities required to administer and operate a server. It is not a different animal than you are used to.
     
  11. foidulus macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    #11
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    No, standalone server simply means you won't be configuring open directory. The only server process that will run is the serial number service, and that doesn't eat a lot of resources.
     
  12. rwwest7 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #12
    Not exactly true, RAM is how many things you can do at once. CPU is how fast you can get something done. A CPU can only do one thing at a time and the faster the Hz the faster it can get that one thing done and move on to the next thing.
     
  13. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    Wouldn't it be better to just get an up-to-date PPC Ubuntu or Linux Mint build? That way you're not stuck using software from 2007 :/
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    I would backup the drive, erase the drive, and install new.

    He is using it on an EMAC. Using up to date technology is probably not a priority.
     

Share This Page