Use Macbook Pro as a display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by shmegal325i, Jan 30, 2012.

  1. shmegal325i macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #1
    Hey guys I'm wondering if it's possible to use a 2010 Macbook Pro as a display for a G4 Quicksilver.
     
  2. quasinormal, Jan 30, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2012

    quasinormal macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #2
    Which model quicksilver? How much RAM? What purpose?

    If you upgrade to 10.5 you could use its Screen sharing abilities. I control a couple of headless macs this way.

    There is some lag from the wireless connection which in your case would be accentuated by the QS's laggy running of 10.5.
     
  3. ObuckiO macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    You might have seen this..G4 Quicksilver capability
     
  4. shmegal325i thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    #4
    Quicksilver 2002 has dual 1.0Ghz cpus, 1GB RAM, ATI 7500 32MB video card, 160GB hard drive, DVD-RW.
     
  5. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #5
    A 5 second forum search would've brought you your answer.

    It's do-able, but it will suck immensely and be very laggy. I suggest you buy a cheap LCD display and save yourself the hassle.
     
  6. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #6
    prolly be easier to buy a cheap lcd display, i just got a 24" Samsung for $210 so im sure a 15-19" would be dirt cheap
     
  7. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #7
    Only the 27" iMacs can be used as external displays via a video interface, but it is limited to MDP and Thunderbolt, thus your link does not apply, as the MBP does not allow video-in.
     

Share This Page