Use MacBook Pro as second display?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by HCEG, Jul 14, 2012.

  1. HCEG macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #1
    Does anyone know for sure if you can use a 17" MacBook Pro as a second display linked to a Mac Pro with 27" Thunderbolt Cinema Display?

    Seems like a straightforward question but can't find an answer so have to ask :)
     
  2. HCEG thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Location:
    Oxford, England
    #3
    Rats!

    Thank you though...
     
  3. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #4
    That's alright, I had wondered myself for a while, though in my case for xboxing commitments.
     
  4. Bobby.e macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas
    #5
    Yea. I think the only Mac that can be used as a monitor is the 27inch iMac .
     
  5. noteple macrumors 65816

    noteple

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #6
  6. Bobby.e macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Location:
    Kansas
    #7
    Interesting. I thought that only worked to turn an iOS device into a display.
     
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #8
    You might as well just use a remote desktop app to connect the Mac Pro
     

Share This Page