Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BurtonCCC

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 2, 2005
Wheaton/Normal, IL
I'm looking to buy a G4 Cube, but I don't want to buy one of the old thin Apple flat panel monitors, because I'm only a college student, so I was wondering if I could use my PowerBook as a display for the Cube. What connection does the G4 Cube use for the display?

Daniel.

aquajet

macrumors 68020
Feb 12, 2005
VA
BurtonCCC said:
What connection does the G4 Cube use for the display?

If it's the original video card, it will have standard VGA and the weirdo ADC connectors.

I don't think there's any way to use your powerbook as a monitor.

CanadaRAM

macrumors G5
BurtonCCC said:
I'm looking to buy a G4 Cube, but I don't want to buy one of the old thin Apple flat panel monitors, because I'm only a college student, so I was wondering if I could use my PowerBook as a display for the Cube. What connection does the G4 Cube use for the display?

Daniel.
There is no practical way to move the signal into the Powerbook.

Impractical ways include using some variation of VNC program, or going through a VGA to video digitizing to Firewire setup externally, but results will almost certainly be unacceptably slow and poor quality.

Morn

macrumors 6502
Oct 26, 2005
Become Steve Wozniak and make your own LCD controller circuits for the powerbooks LCD :p I think that's about all you can do.

DeepIn2U

macrumors G5
May 30, 2002
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Well isnt there a Firewire to DVI/ADC connector somewhere? What condition is your Cube in? I'm actually looking for one!

Either that or an iBook G4 with DVDROM/CDRW. nothing fancy just small for fun.

BurtonCCC

macrumors 65816
Original poster
May 2, 2005
Wheaton/Normal, IL
I want a cube simply for holding all my music and backing up my DVDs. Problem is, the hard drives are usually no more that 20GB, so I'd have to stick a big fat hard drive in there.