use of a stylus with iPod Touch

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by b28c, Jan 22, 2009.

  1. b28c macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #1
    Has anyone experimented with the use of a stylus pen or other blunt object for quick input?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    The iPhone/iPod touch touchscreen responds to either the heat or the electric charge of your finger (can't remember which), so a stylus shouldn't work.
     
  3. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #3
  4. sjleworthy macrumors 65816

    sjleworthy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Penarth, Wales, UK
    #4
    yes, there are a whole range of styluses available especially to Touch/iphone users. ebay is your friend :)
     
  5. jake921660 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    A bit off topic but do the iPhones main competitors such as the Pre also have capacitative touch screens? Meaning they also do not work with standard styluses (styli?).
     
  6. big-blue-wolf macrumors regular

    big-blue-wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    15.8 miles from Molineux
    #6
    Surely you can use your fingers far faster than a stylus? I know I can.
     
  7. DuckSoup macrumors 6502a

    DuckSoup

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Location:
    Upstate Central NY
    #7
    I can use my finger faster too, but if I am typing something long, such as a post here, I use my stylus as there are almost NO fat-finger mistakes to correct. With my finger there is more typos in a longer post than I like. None with a stylus.

    Mike
     
  8. NeGRit0 macrumors 6502a

    NeGRit0

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv
    #8

    I don't know for sure about Palm, but I have an a friend with the G1 so I can confirm HTC devices do NOT have the capacitive screen. Another reason I have a Windows based cellular, and an iPod touch and not the iPhone.
     
  9. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #9
    Yes, I have the HTC Mogul from Sprint and mine doesn't have a capacitive screen either.
     
  10. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #10
    Its been confirmed that the Pre will have capacitive touch screen the same as the iphone.
     
  11. big-blue-wolf macrumors regular

    big-blue-wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Location:
    15.8 miles from Molineux
    #11
    I suppose a stylus is thinner than your finger so it must be easier to be more precise in where you place it. The keyboard can be awkward occasionally especially when you have to press letters next to each other.
     
  12. Old Muley macrumors 6502a

    Old Muley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
    #12
    I have a Palm T/X and can confirm that it's stylus does not work on my iTouch. Honestly, the more I use my iTouch the more I like being sans stylus. All too often now, I'll find myself trying to enter data on my Palm using my fingers...which doesn't work too well either.
     
  13. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #13
    Exactly. I now use my fingers more than 80% of the time, but occasionary, I find that I keep hitting "p" no matter how many times I try to hit "o." A stylus is just more accurate than a finger.
     
  14. MrSEC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #14
    Also,a stylus would come in very handy if you are wearing gloves.
     
  15. GetAudiHere macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    #15
    Naw no need! Just use you fingers. Listen to the WWDC release of the iphone and you will see steve jobs laughs at stylus'.

    The only way it would make sense is with gloves but thats what they make convertible gloves for :D
     
  16. chrisa79 macrumors newbie

    chrisa79

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #16
    this works perfectly fine, I use this one for my 2gen. :)
     

Share This Page