Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

puma1552

Suspended
Original poster
Nov 20, 2008
"This experience has provided me intimate insight into not only Japanese society but also Japanese disposition, yielding me a rather unique perspective from which to approach my research interests once admitted to IR/PS"

Is this passive voice because of the "has provided"?

This is a sentence from my grad school SoP for a master's in international relations. My background is engineering, where we subconsciously used nothing but the passive voice. As a result, despite how many websites I read on passive voice, I can never be too sure if I'm using it or not.

If this IS passive voice, how would you rework it in active voice without losing the erudition it has? It seems like whenever I work around what seems to be unavoidable passive voice, the resultant active voice sounds far more trite and unintelligent.

mscriv

macrumors 601
Aug 14, 2008
Dallas, Texas
"This experience has provided me intimate insight into not only Japanese society but also Japanese disposition, yielding me a rather unique perspective from which to approach my research interests once admitted to IR/PS"

This experience gave intimate insight into Japanese society and disposition. As a result, I can better approach research interests after admission to IR/PS.

Passive voice can be tricky when writing in the first person. Now, I'm no grammarian and I can't guarantee that my reworking is the best solution. However, I think it's best to avoid being verbose as much as possible. If you can say what you want with less words than it is usually better to do so. Unless, your trying to up your word count, but teachers are usually adept at busting you on that. :D

Here's a link on passive voice that might be helpful, even though you say you've read many.

eawmp1

macrumors 601
Feb 19, 2008
FL
It's not passive.

Subject "experience"