Use of PCMCIA/Airport Slot in PowerMacs

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by G4fanboy, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. G4fanboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #1
    I see a lot of info about using PCMCIA adapters to compact flast memories on PowerBooks and using it (bootable)
    But nothing on PowerMacs. Do it worth to try? Should be the performance worst than IDE DOM(DiskOnModule)?
    The Airport slot comes in lots of Macs... But no one talks about using it for other uses in PowerMacs than holding that wifi thing.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The Airport slot is not a standard PCMCIA slot. It was a few pins switched around that make it only work with the Airport card and its clones. Trying to use a PCMCIA card in one will cause the machine to not boot or it just won't be seen.
     
  3. G4fanboy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #3
    Is there a know workaround to the pinout?

    It is a shame have a port wasted
     
  4. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    The pinouts are not publicly available. If they were, it's unlikely that it would work as Mac OS X doesn't even know that port as a PCMICA slot.
     
  5. G4fanboy thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Andalucia Spain
    #5
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    The PCI adapter may work. CompactFlash and SD card based SSDs have a limited life and are not overly fast, but work well of OS 9.
     

Share This Page