Use old MacBook Pro ram in new unibody MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HerbyGunther, Jan 3, 2009.

  1. HerbyGunther macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #1
    Hi there, I've searched around on MR and Google, but didn't found what I needed, so will try it here.

    I just bought a base model unibody MacBook Pro with 2 gig of ram. I have an old Santa Rosa model with 4 gig that I would like to use in my new one.

    Is it compatible? Is it slower compared to 4 gig ddr3? I mean real world performance.

    Thanks!
     
  2. uiop. macrumors 68020

    uiop.

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #2
    I believe if you put all four GBs in there, then it will work. But I think the issue is mixing DDR3 with DDR2.
     
  3. HerbyGunther thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #3
    I have 2 x 2 gig 667 ddr2 ram. I want to replace both slots in the new MBP.
     
  4. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #4
    I'm pretty sure it will work. But you'll have to stick with the slower speed and DDR2..

    real world, not much, couple of percent. Surely it would be better to sell the old extra ram and put it towards some DDR3 for your new MBP
     
  5. kasakka macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #5
    It's not compatible. The new Macbooks use DDR3 RAM.
     
  6. uiop. macrumors 68020

    uiop.

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #6
    I'm thinking the best way for you to find out is to just try it and see what happens. 99% sure it will work.
     
  7. Willis macrumors 68020

    Willis

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    What feels like the middle of nowhere
    #7
    thought they are backward compatable
     
  8. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #8
    It wont work (i just tried and it doesnt on mine!) but you could always give it a shot, it wont damage your computer trying, and you my have a different manurfacturers RAM from mine :)
     
  9. FocusAndEarnIt macrumors 601

    FocusAndEarnIt

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
  10. HerbyGunther thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    #10
    Thanks a lot! I guess I will not try it. :p My old MBP just died, I don't want my new one to die too. Will wait for the DDR3 modules. :D I will just have to hold out with 2 gigs.
     
  11. the mac geek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #11
    Not only does it not work, but it won't even fit. They do this to avoid these types of actions. So unless you jam it in there which will destroy your laptop, don't worry you are safe from your ignorance.

    Just take a look at the keying.

    DDR3
    [​IMG]

    DDR2
    [​IMG]
     
  12. phl33t macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #12
    Wait, i'm having the same question. My computer just got stolen, and the insurance company is buying me a new macbook pro. I had a ram upgrade before, so they are getting me that, but the quote specified DDR2 ram. Is it DEFINITELY not compatible, or will it just slow down the computer?
    Thanks.
     
  13. DAMNiatx macrumors 6502a

    DAMNiatx

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
  14. relativist macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    #14
    DDR2 is NOT compatible with DDR3. Point out to them they need to pay for upgrade for same amount of ram (functionality argument) that will work with the system that is being replaced.
     
  15. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #15
    It doesn't even matter, it wont fit because DDR2 and DDR3 are different shapes so he cant do any damage.
     
  16. Patriks7 macrumors 65816

    Patriks7

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    #16
    Did you even look at the picture above? :confused:
     
  17. uicandrew macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    #17
    wait, is it compatible? :)

    great use of magenta
     
  18. Outrigger macrumors 68000

    Outrigger

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    #18
    DDR2 = 200 pin
    DDR3 = 204 pin

    unless you can magically fit 200 into 204, it won't work.
     
  19. P90Xfit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #19


    OK, so....... What are you saying here?
     
  20. Quu macrumors 68020

    Quu

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #21
    As others have said DDR2 RAM WILL NOT WORK in any Unibody MacBook Pros they use DDR3 only and it is not backwards compatible. DDR2 RAM will not fit in a DDR3 slot, and DDR3 will not fit in a DDR2 slot.

    It's just that simple there is no way at all you can make DDR2 work in a Unibody MacBook Pro.
     
  21. Markov macrumors 6502

    Markov

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #22
    It's amazing how people do not read every post in a forum, when typically, the question is the first post and the answers are all the preceding posts. Hmmm...

    Lets review what we learned...
    DDR2 MEMORY DOES NOT FIT IN DDR3 SLOTS, AKA, OLD MBP MEMORY WILL NOT FIT IN THE NEW UNIBODY MBP'S

    I hope that clears things up! ;)
     
  22. PeterQC macrumors 6502a

    PeterQC

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #23
    Is it Comic sans MS ?! Hell man, it burns!! remove that!!
     

Share This Page