Use router as Wifi Source? (noob question)

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by elgrayso, Dec 26, 2014.

  1. elgrayso macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #1
    I have my cable modem plugged into a router. The router is then plugged into two macs via ethernet. It works great but the wifi is terrible, even when right next to it. Its even worse when I want to use it in the living room (the main room I would use mobile).

    My question is this:
    Can I route a third ethernet cable from my router to an additional second router in my living room; this second router would be used soley for a strong wifi signal. Kind of like an extender, but hardwired to my original router.

    I don't want to spend money on a new router to replace my old one, and my dad has a router I can use for free to use as this "extender".
    Is this a good idea or will this mess something up with my original router, etc....
     
  2. hallux macrumors 68020

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #2
    Why not try your dad's in the current location rather than complicating things? Some are better than others, though building construction will have a huge effect on signal quality and strength. Also, if you have lots of neighbors you may be getting interference, try just a different channel for your WiFi. If interference is the issue, you won't see much better performance with an additional unit in another room.
     
  3. phrehdd macrumors 68040

    phrehdd

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #3
    The technical answer is yes. What make and model of router do you have and your father? You may want to learn about "bridge mode" concepts with routers to give you a bit more understanding. As well, not all routers play nicely together but it can work in most cases.
     
  4. elgrayso thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2013
    #4
    Hallux

    thats a good point but I do have reasons behind not replacing the router.

    1. The router works great for sharing files between the macs. My last router didn't.
    2. My dads router is a cheaper model
    3. I had to have someone configure my router customized to work with a few different complicated things I didn't understand. like accessories and programs.
    4. I already have an ethernet cable wired into the living room that is available to plug in at any time. (Used to use on Roku, but unused now).
    5. I would be using the wifi in the living room and not in the room on the other end of the apartment (where current router setup is).

    phew... anyways you can see how just plugging in the extra router seems like the LESS complicated option :)

    ----------

    hmm I will look into this bridge mode...
    :)
     
  5. satcomer, Dec 27, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2014

    satcomer macrumors 603

    satcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Finger Lakes Region
    #5
    What most home users should know that whenever setting up a network the first device behind a modem should have NAT turned on. Then any networking device beyond that first NAT router should have NAT turned off. This will prevent network collisions of IPs and slow your network down.

    In Apple routers to turn off NAT Apple calls that "Bridged Mode".
     

Share This Page