Use Superdrive with a USB Hub?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iisarenotnobody, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. iisarenotnobody macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #1
    I am looking forward to buy an Air, and i want to use it in desktop mode. I have read at some places that only the Macbook Air's USB will power the External Superdrive, is that true or can I use a USB hub and connect the superdrive that way?
     
  2. 11800506 macrumors 65816

    11800506

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Washington D.C. Area
    #2
    That is true. The External Superdrive is only usable when plugged directly into the Macbook Air.
     
  3. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #3
    I've used a powered hub and it works just fine. It all depends on the amount of power that you have available for the particular multi-USB hub...
     
  4. Pupator macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #4
    I use a non-powered 4 port I/OGear hub and it works fine (even burning dvds).
     
  5. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #5
    I'll have to try that one. Thanks...
     
  6. MorningZ macrumors newbie

    MorningZ

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Location:
    Ft Lauderdale
    #6
    Guess this is one of those "hit or miss" type things

    My un-powered Targus one doesn't work with the Superdrive :(

    [​IMG]
     
  7. jackiecanev2 macrumors 65816

    jackiecanev2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #7
    Could you snap a pic of your IOGear hub, so we can know which one works?

    Also, I know that the drive will work with the new cinema display, but does it work with the USB hub on the wired keyboard?
     
  8. Pupator macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    It's model GUH285 - this one: http://www.provantage.com/iogear-guh285~7IOGA018.htm

    I'm not endorsing that particular store just showing which model it is. I should also remind everyone that I'm using Windows 7, not OSX - I don't know if that will matter on this issue (shouldn't, but who knows?).
     
  9. Mactagonist macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    NYC - Manhattan
    #9
    Or plugged into the new 24" LED display.
     
  10. dehory macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2008
    #10
    Wow, is it possible to confirm this in OS X? I've never come across mention of the Superdrive working with a unpowered USB hub. What else have you got plugged into the hub? It would be great if there was an unpowered hub which worked...

    EDIT: Just came across this guy's post. It seems like it's just as likely to be a software restriction as a hardware one -- which is strange because there were those Superdrive mods which people started doing last year. And this is in addition to some people maintaining that it's a power-related problem even after investigative reports suggested otherwise...
     

Share This Page