Use the new SIM card or the old SIM card?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Jaggz83, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. Jaggz83 macrumors newbie

    Jaggz83

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Location:
    North Eastern Coast
    #1
    I am going to pick up my iPhone X today. Should I just use my old SIM card for the X or use the new card in the box?

    What’s the difference? I thought I read if I use the old card, everything will be the same, all the apps or whatever would automatically load up....
     
  2. Turtle69Turtle macrumors regular

    Turtle69Turtle

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    #2
    Not sure who told you that using a SIM card will automatically load your apps, but this is simply untrue. Your SIM card stores nothing but allows you to connect to your wireless providers network. I know you can store some contacts on your sim with android phones.

    Back to the question, doesn’t matter if you use the old or new sim. I’m personally just going to toss the old sim and use the new sim so everything is new
     
  3. conan-kun macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Ohio, USA
    #3
    Sometimes if you use the old SIM card, you can avoid the activation/upgrade fee your carrier charges.
     
  4. Jaggz83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jaggz83

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Location:
    North Eastern Coast
    #4
    Do you think using my old sim would have any effect on my new phone not being able to connect to safari. On my current phone, i can’t use my internet. It says safari can’t connect to the server.

    I may just use my new sim.
     
  5. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #5
    I used to do ATT like that and used the same sim card on last three iPhones but this time my existing SIM card would not work so I had to use the included SIM card.
     
  6. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Apple iPhone World
    #6
    So did you choose the "Activate Later"? I did, but looks like I'd have to use the one that was included bummer. Guess I'll have to pay for the activation fee. I'm fine with that as Verizon still hasn't charged me the activation fee for the iphone 8 Plus that is on iUP that I got in September.
     
  7. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #7
    What problem did you have?
    Did you order from AT&T or Apple?

    I activated 2 AT&T iPhone X using existing AT&T SIMs and helped my neighbor do a Verizon iPhone X with an existing Verizon SIM.

    Dave
     
  8. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    Looks like ATT took additional steps to protect it’s activation fee. Been using the same nano sim for the last 2-3 phones with no problem. Had to use the included sim but am very happy to have my X up and running. Will be putting the 8+ up for sale tomorrow.
     
  9. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #9
    I had to get a new SIM when I upgraded to the 6 from the 5s. I think it’s because the 5s SIM wasn’t provisioned for VoLTE. I got a text message from AT&T saying to stop by a store for a new SIM.
     
  10. Seth Matthews macrumors 6502

    Seth Matthews

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Location:
    The Ether
    #10
    That is strange. Before I turned my X on, I put my old SIM in, booted up, and no problems. You don't have to use the SIM that came with it. I'm on AT&T.
     
  11. Newtons Apple macrumors Core

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #11
    Not for me.
     
  12. Seth Matthews macrumors 6502

    Seth Matthews

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Location:
    The Ether
    #12
    How exactly did it not work for you? I'm curious.
     
  13. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Apple iPhone World
    #13
    I think this is because apple.com delivers are done differently oppose to in-store pick up as they use their P.O.S to scan and then it's in their system.

    When I connected my iPhone X Space Gray that I got today into itune, it had me input my billing zip code and my last 4 SSN. I'm pretty sure it asked me to input that on screen set up as well.
     
  14. lenard macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    Raleigh NC
    #14
    That’s what I been doing for the last 2 upgrades, seems to treat it as just a replacement phone, activation was quick.
     

Share This Page

13 November 4, 2017