Use Time Capsule HDD to upgrade iMac mid 2010?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rikscha, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. rikscha macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Is this possible and a way to circumvent the issue with the temp sensors? what do you think.

    I am talking about the latest TC revision.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba, Mar 12, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    If you have a Mac mini instead of an iMac, since I misread the title somehow:

    Do you want to use the TC HDD in the Mac mini? If so, that is not possible, as the TC uses a 3.5" HDD and the Mac mini uses a 2.5" HDD.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Review the thread title. iMac mid 2010, not mini. ;)

    I would not recommend that as the TC drive will have been on in a poor thermal environment for all its life and may have had its life shortened.

    B
     
  4. simsaladimbamba, Mar 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2012

    simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    Ahhhhhh. :eek: The "mid" part looked like "mini". Thanks for embarrassing me.
     
  5. rikscha thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Location:
    London
    #5
    Sorry for late reply. I have a brand new 2TB Time capsule and a mid 2010 iMac with 500gb HDD. I realised now that upgrading the TC to 3TB would come in handy and also I'm running out out space on my iMac. Do you think I can use the TCs HDD and put it in my iMac without running into the problem with the not working temperature sensor? You run into this problem when not using apple HDDs but this isnt the case when using the HDD of the time capsule.

    What do you think?
     

Share This Page