Use video_ts files on MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sound Evolution, May 30, 2008.

  1. Sound Evolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    Dear All,

    My apologies for my newbe questions..

    Since the MBA has no internal DVD drive, I would like to pre load some DVD's on the MBA hard drive before I go on the road. I was thinking of using mac the ripper to rip my personal DVD.

    Is there a way in Front Row to import video_ts files without using an optical disk? As far as memory serves this wasn't possible with Tiger.

    If this is impossible what is an other way to store DVD's on my hard drive and watch them in front row?

    Thanks in advance.

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
  3. xhambonex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #3
    Well if you are using MacTheRipper, you need an optical drive. So in that case, use one, get the VIDEO_TS files, and put the folder onto a flash drive or something and move it over to your MBA. Or yes you could use handbrake. I like using MacTheRipper because its a full DVD rip, meaning all the extras and menus is you like, or just the main feature. You can keep those as records, and use Handbrake to convert those files into ipod .mp4 or .avi or whichever you choose.
     
  4. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #4
    Dear Eidorian,

    Thank you for the link, but it is not exactly what I was searching. I was wondering if it is possible to store (at least for a while) a video_ts folder in a way that you can access it with front row.

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  5. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #5
    Dear xhambonex,

    But I have enough HD space left to store two or three movies for on the road. So I prefer to store it for the time being (till the trip is over) on the MBA HD. I have the MBA optical drive but I want to pre load the movies at home. Will front row accept a video_ts file? and if so where to put those files?

    Is it also possible to let front row show the cover image of the DVD?

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  6. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    No, Front Row will not natively play video_ts content.



    You should just rip the video file to mp4 with Handbrake as mentioned earlier as those files ARE natively supported by Front Row.



    There is some 3rd party AppleScript that runs in the background that allows Front Row to play video_ts content but my experience with it was not great.



    I suggest Handbrake
     
  7. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    Thank you ;)

    Handbrake gives the benefit that I can compress the files and safe HD space.

    While I am googeling I find this:

    http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20071029182617245

    With best regards,
    Bas
     
  8. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #8


    False! In Leopard, Front Row WILL play Video_TS. All you need to do is make an alias of the Video_TS folder and put the alias in your user Movies folder.


    EDIT: Guess I was a few minutes late. All the same, you will save battery life and HDD space if you use Handbrake.
     
  9. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    Thank you,

    which file format you advice for a reassonable to good image quality but with reducing HD space?

    If I make for example a MP4 file, do I have to make an alias also and drag that to the "movie" folder?

    Thanks again,

    with kind regards,
    Bas
     
  10. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #10
    Dear All,

    It worked! Just drag the folder (with the AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS) with the ripped movie in to your "movie" folder. (or make an alias and drag it there). As soon you start up frontrow you get the ripped movie in it's menu below the movie trailers. Only one thing didn't work. The see the cover image in coverflow. I placed a DVD cover image in the video_ts folder and called it "preview.jpg" but it don't work yet... anyone? :D

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  11. ezpk69 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    #11
    this is a day late and a dollar short, but since we're talking about "2 or 3 movies" not some big unwieldy library, wouldn't it be easier just to play them in DVD player?
     
  12. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    Dear,

    What is exact the difference between the DVD player and the DVD play ability in front row? Is one better then another?

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  13. xhambonex macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    #13
    Well using Front Row doesn't allow you to do anything else while a movie is running. I doubt there is any quality difference. Quality depends on the rip and source dvd. Use DVD Player, its less of a hassle, unless you really want to use your remote for front row. but i never use front row, its just a fancy of displaying normal computer functions i.e. itunes, iphoto, dvd player...
     
  14. Sound Evolution thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #14
    Dear All,

    I tried both. The remote works happily on both frontrow as dvd player. In quality... it can be me but the DVD players seems sharper with more background detail and depth in the picture.

    Ps. I managed to watch 3 movies in a row with my MBA on a blanket in my bed and I didn't had core shutdown or any stops. I had sometimes some fan activity however.

    With kind regards,
    Bas
     
  15. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008

Share This Page