Use workout app and second running app at same time?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by goat5570, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. goat5570 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #1
    Can two apps work at the same time while running? For example, I would start the workout app and ismoothrun at the same time to record the same run. Is that possible? If so, how do you switch between the two while running? Screen swipe? Use the dock to change back and forth between the apps?
     
  2. scriptkitten macrumors regular

    scriptkitten

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #2
    I do this.

    I used to run workout and Nike +, both from the watch, and switch between with the crown.

    Then Nike messed up the app and the watch app isn't really connected to the phone app.

    My best scenario is to start workout on the watch so I have quick loading pace and distance updates and Nike+ on my phone so I get pace updates in my ear every .25 miles.


    If the Apple Watch talked to me during my run I wouldn't have to use Nike. I'd just let HealthKit transfer my run to it for record keeping.
     
  3. goat5570 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #3
    Thanks for the response. I did a run this morning using the workout app and ismoothrun. Both recorded fine, made sure to disable ismoothrun from writing to health to avoid double activity.

    The one issue I had was switching between the two on the watch during the run. I switched to the ismoothrun early before too much sweat becoming a problem with the touch screen. The watch kept switching back to workout after a glace or two at the watch. Is there a way to make a chosen app stay as the active app seen? Or is there a better way to switch between then how I do it. This is my first apple watch, so maybe I don't know of a better way. While running, I was pushing side button, and swiping to the app I wanted to see. Easy to do early in the run, but not so much as I started to sweat.
     
  4. nicho macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #4
    you don't have to do this; the health app nows how to prioritise and ignore duplicate data written at the same time.
     
  5. BrettDS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Location:
    Orlando
    #5
    You can double click the crown to switch to the most recently used app, so a quick double click on the crown should get you back to ismoothrun without worrying about the touchscreen.
     

Share This Page