Used Camptune X to resize Windows partition now I can't load Windows 7.

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
"No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key" and a black screen is all I see.

Please tell me somebody can help? I'm currently traveling and I have no access to downloads or DVDs or any of that stuff. Just tell me - is my partition *********? If it is - I want my money back from Camptune. I bought it for this one reason and it's ruined my entire partition.

Please tell me there's some trick or whatever I can do to get back into the partition? I had valuable stuff on it.
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
It may be fixable by running the Windows automatic repair feature from a Windows installer. It may need running 3 times as there could be 3 things to fix.
I appreciate that you don't have one whilst travelling but it may be an option once you're back home.

Can you access the Windows partition and its files from within OSX?

Could you please give the output from the following terminal commands in OSX?
sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
sudo fdisk /dev/disk0

Those assume that you have only one hard drive in your Mac (disk0).
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
It may be fixable by running the Windows automatic repair feature from a Windows installer. It may need running 3 times as there could be 3 things to fix.
I appreciate that you don't have one whilst travelling but it may be an option once you're back home.

Can you access the Windows partition and its files from within OSX?

Could you please give the output from the following terminal commands in OSX?
sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
sudo fdisk /dev/disk0

Those assume that you have only one hard drive in your Mac (disk0).
Hi :) thank you for your reply

If you mean can I access the files from the Finder then yes I can do that

and these are what came up when I typed in those commands:

Last login: Wed Mar 26 00:24:19 on console
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
Password:
gpt show: disk0: mediasize=500277790720; sectorsize=512; blocks=977105060
gpt show: disk0: PMBR at sector 0
gpt show: disk0: Pri GPT at sector 1
gpt show: disk0: Sec GPT at sector 977105059
start size index contents
0 1 PMBR
1 1 Pri GPT header
2 32 Pri GPT table
34 6
40 409600 1 GPT part - C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
409640 730743168 2 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
731152808 3672
731156480 1269536 3 GPT part - 426F6F74-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
732426016 4320
732430336 244674560 4 GPT part - EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
977104896 131
977105027 32 Sec GPT table
977105059 1 Sec GPT header
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 60821/255/63 [977105060 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 0 0 2 - 1023 1 1 [ 1 - 4294967295] <Unknown ID>
2: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
3: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Sorry for the delay in replying.
How old is your MacBook Air?
Do you know if Windows was installed in EFI mode or CSM (bios) mode?

If it's the former then your fdisk output is correct.
If it's the latter then it appears that your hybrid MBR has become a protective MBR. It may be enough to create a new hybrid MBR with gdisk, but the mode of installation should be clarified first.

EDIT
To clarify the installation mode you can navigate to the Bootcamp partition in OSX and open the Windows folder (as in C:\Windows) and look for a folder called "Panther".
Open that folder and you should see a "setupact.log" file.
Right-click that file and choose to open with textedit.
Once open look in the menu bar at the top of your screen and select Edit > Find and in the contact menu that then opens up select Find.
In your newly opened setupact.log file you will see a search bar has appeared at the top.
Type this into the search field
Detected boot environment
This will highlight that particular text in the window and just after that entry will be the word BIOS or EFI.

Which is shown in yours?
 
Last edited:

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Hi no problems I appreciate any help at all!

I get to the Panther file then I can't continue your instructions... The file you said the set up one isn't there.

And my MBA is a couple of months old, it's the 2013 version. :)
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
That is correct :/

EDIT:
It's very late for me now in Italy so I'm going to have to go to sleep but I'll be back on tomorrow and will give any more information necessary... Thank you for your help:)
 
Last edited:

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
I'm stumped now, trying to think of another way to find out the installation mode.

The problem is that the 2013 MBA can install Windows natively in EFI mode.
If that's the case for your machine then we should not create a hybrid MBR. It should remain a protective MBR.
Most previous Macs cannot install Windows in EFI through Bootcamp. Yours is different.

EDIT
Ok I'll have a sleep on it too :)

----------

Oh wait!
If you mount your EFI partition and look at its contents you will see a Microsoft folder inside the EFI folder if it's an EFI installation.

In OSX open a terminal and run this

mkdir /Volumes/efi

then run

sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi

Then open a Finder window and at the bottom of the left pane you'll see an EFI option.
Click on that and the contents will appear in the right pane.
What is shown?
DO NOT delete anything! Just view the contents.
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Ok well there is an EFI file thing and then inside there's APPLE then inside that there is EXTENSIONS and FIRMWARE
In EXTENSIONS: Firmware.scap
And in FIRMWARE:MBA61_B07_LOCKED.scap

This is looking more and more like my windows partition is screwed :/
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Maybe not. Those contents are normal for a CSM (bios) mode installation of Windows.
Which means that your fdisk output is wrong.
Which means that a new hybrid MBR may get it booting again - though other things could be wrong too.

Are you in a position to download a small program? I mean only about 300 KB in size, if I remember correctly.
If you are please get this pkg file and install it in OSX (get the top one, version 0.8.10 from the top of the page, not the top of the list).
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/files/gptfdisk/0.8.9/gdisk-binaries/
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Maybe not. Those contents are normal for a CSM (bios) mode installation of Windows.
Which means that your fdisk output is wrong.
Which means that a new hybrid MBR may get it booting again - though other things could be wrong too.

Are you in a position to download a small program? I mean only about 300 KB in size, if I remember correctly.
If you are please get this pkg file and install it in OSX (get the top one, version 0.8.10 from the top of the page, not the top of the list).
http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/files/gptfdisk/0.8.9/gdisk-binaries/
Sure I can download something that small yeah, will do it now...

And once I've got it what shall I do?
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Once it's installed open up a terminal in OSX and assuming you have only one hard drive installed run

sudo gdisk /dev/disk0
and enter your password, then

type "r" (no quotes) and press enter
type "h" and press enter

You'll get a warning that hybrid MBR's are flaky and dangerous. That's ok.

It will ask for 1 to 3 partition numbers (space separated) so I would suggest you enter

2 3 4 (one space between each) and press enter

It will ask if you want to include the EFI partition first in MBR
answer Y and press enter

you will get default entries for partition 2 - accept them by pressing enter BUT
the last question will ask if you want to make the partition bootable - answer N and press enter.

Do the same for partition 3

For partition 4 accept defaults (checking that type 07 is the default option for partition type) but when it asks you if you want to make partition 4 bootable - answer Y and press enter.

When finished type "w" and press enter - to write changes to the partition table.

Answer Y to continue.

When done type "q" to quit gdisk
Close terminal

Reboot holding Alt key and see if Windows appears in the boot menu - try to boot it.
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Once it's installed open up a terminal in OSX and assuming you have only one hard drive installed run

sudo gdisk /dev/disk0
and enter your password, then

type "r" (no quotes) and press enter
type "h" and press enter

You'll get a warning that hybrid MBR's are flaky and dangerous. That's ok.

It will ask for 1 to 3 partition numbers (space separated) so I would suggest you enter

2 3 4 (one space between each) and press enter

It will ask if you want to include the EFI partition first in MBR
answer Y and press enter

you will get default entries for partition 2 - accept them by pressing enter BUT
the last question will ask if you want to make the partition bootable - answer N and press enter.

Do the same for partition 3

For partition 4 accept defaults (checking that type 07 is the default option for partition type) but when it asks you if you want to make partition 4 bootable - answer Y and press enter.

When finished type "w" and press enter - to write changes to the partition table.

Answer Y to continue.

When done type "q" to quit gdisk
Close terminal

Reboot holding Alt key and see if Windows appears in the boot menu - try to boot it.
Ok... so I followed your steps perfectly and there's good and bad news.

First of all : windows is in the boot menu now.
BUT
Now there is a new black screen with lots more text, the first screen I see says all this:

drive 0x00(LBA): C/H/SS=G0822/255/63, Sector Count/Size=977105438/512
Partition nun: 0, Filesystem type fat, partition type 0xEE
Partition nun: 1, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0xEE
Partition nun: 2, then it says same as above
Partition nun: 3, same again

****

Options if your HDD is larger than 1TB:
* Move your boot files to a smaller partition at the start of the HDD.
* Format the HDD and allow Windows to create a 100MB boot partition
* Shrink and move your partitions with GParter

Press any key to read more...
-

---END of what it says on the first screen

then there's another two screens with lots of text and then a list of Windows/vista/server and stuff... can post everything if necessary but maybe you recognise it just from the first screen
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
I've not seen anything like that before.
Can you please post the output of the following terminal command in OSX
sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
Last login: Wed Mar 26 15:30:14 on console
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
Password:
Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 60821/255/63 [977105060 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 0 0 2 - 25 127 14 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
2: AF 25 127 15 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 730743168] HFS+
3: AB 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 731156480 - 1269536] Darwin Boot
*4: 07 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 732430336 - 244674560] HPFS/QNX/AUX
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$


those are the results...

I'm so annoyed at Camptune X, this is what it's designed for and it's completely failed...

Thank you for all your help so far I really appreciate it.
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
I know how you feel. Camptune X wrecked both my Windows and my OSX installations. I had to start from scratch to get them back.

Your partition structure looks fine. Just as it should.
What's less sure is the partition sizes. I don't know whether the sizes shown in the fdisk output are the same as they were before or whether they are the Camptune X resized version.
We also don't know whether Camptune X performed successfully in this respect.

Try rebooting again and hold the Alt key then try booting Windows again.
See if the same thing happens again.
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
I know how you feel. Camptune X wrecked both my Windows and my OSX installations. I had to start from scratch to get them back.

Your partition structure looks fine. Just as it should.
What's less sure is the partition sizes. I don't know whether the sizes shown in the fdisk output are the same as they were before or whether they are the Camptune X resized version.
We also don't know whether Camptune X performed successfully in this respect.

Try rebooting again and hold the Alt key then try booting Windows again.
See if the same thing happens again.
:/ That's terrible :/

And I have restarted it now a few times and the same problem... :/

Edit:
Just a random thought but maybe doing a Camptune X re-size again might have some sort of an effect?
 
Last edited:

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Odd :confused:
If you open gdisk again with
sudo gdisk /dev/disk0

when it's opened type in "v" with no quotes and hit enter.
Please report any errors shown.

If none, type "p" no quotes and hit enter.

Please paste that whole contents of that terminal window in your next post (from start to finish).
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Odd :confused:
If you open gdisk again with
sudo gdisk /dev/disk0

when it's opened type in "v" with no quotes and hit enter.
Please report any errors shown.

If none, type "p" no quotes and hit enter.

Please paste that whole contents of that terminal window in your next post (from start to finish).
Okie dokes here you go:

Last login: Wed Mar 26 15:56:28 on console
Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo gdisk /dev/disk0
Password:
GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

Warning: Devices opened with shared lock will not have their
partition table automatically reloaded!
Partition table scan:
MBR: hybrid
BSD: not present
APM: not present
GPT: present

Found valid GPT with hybrid MBR; using GPT.

Command (? for help): v

No problems found. 8129 free sectors (4.0 MiB) available in 4
segments, the largest of which is 4320 (2.1 MiB) in size.

Command (? for help): p
Disk /dev/disk0: 977105060 sectors, 465.9 GiB
Logical sector size: 512 bytes
Disk identifier (GUID): 4F6DAD7A-AE40-43A4-8908-C10F896CDBF7
Partition table holds up to 128 entries
First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 977105026
Partitions will be aligned on 8-sector boundaries
Total free space is 8129 sectors (4.0 MiB)

Number Start (sector) End (sector) Size Code Name
1 40 409639 200.0 MiB EF00 EFI System Partition
2 409640 731152807 348.4 GiB AF00 Customer
3 731156480 732426015 619.9 MiB AB00 Recovery HD
4 732430336 977104895 116.7 GiB 0700 BOOTCAMP

Command (? for help):
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Other than the second partition being labelled "customer" instead of the more usual "Macintosh HD" I don't see anything wrong with your partition structure.

Unfortunately we are limited in what we can do whilst you are travelling. Having a Windows installation dvd/usb might be helpful, but that can't be helped (short of downloading a new one).
Even with that I'm uncertain that we could fix it.

With things how they are I would expect Windows to boot normally or to fail to boot giving an error message (such as Missing operating system, for instance).
As this is not happening and I don't understand the pages of text it is giving you I don't know what to suggest.

It may be worth contacting Camptune X's support service (if they have one) and telling them exactly what has happened, asking them how to proceed from here.

I'll keep reviewing your predicament in the hope that something comes to mind but in all honesty I'm not that hopeful.

If you start up Bootcamp Assistant is the option to remove Windows available or is that option greyed out?
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Yes :/ It is very frustrating and as I said I paid for Camptune X to simplify this job and I can't believe that it's so completely screwed up my partition. This product shouldn't be for sale if this is what it does.

And as for the deleting Windows partition option, that's available in the assistant...
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Ok, so that means OSX is aware that you have a Windows installation. A partitioning error could leave that option greyed out.

I'm assuming that you have no USB devices plugged in when trying to boot Windows?
 

Quackers

macrumors 6502a
Sep 18, 2013
645
1
Manchester, UK
Thanks, it's puzzling that it doesn't appear to try to boot Windows at all.
It appears to be listing partitions - wrongly, as it happens. I've never seen that before. It's almost as if it's not looking for Windows.

If you would be happier returning the partition table to how it was when you started this thread (i.e. after Camptune X resized it) you can use gdisk to create a protective MBR, which will negate what we did previously with the hybrid MBR.
 

robertpovall

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 23, 2014
19
0
Well in the meantime I actually tried a resize again to see what happened and it went back to step one so something is definitely wrong with Camptune as it's creating the same environment.

Not sure what to do really. I'm so frustrated that I just want to delete the Windows partition and start again when I'm home if it's irreparable...