Used Camptune X to resize Windows partition now I can't load Windows 7.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by robertpovall, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. robertpovall macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #1
    "No bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key" and a black screen is all I see.

    Please tell me somebody can help? I'm currently traveling and I have no access to downloads or DVDs or any of that stuff. Just tell me - is my partition *********? If it is - I want my money back from Camptune. I bought it for this one reason and it's ruined my entire partition.

    Please tell me there's some trick or whatever I can do to get back into the partition? I had valuable stuff on it.
     
  2. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    It may be fixable by running the Windows automatic repair feature from a Windows installer. It may need running 3 times as there could be 3 things to fix.
    I appreciate that you don't have one whilst travelling but it may be an option once you're back home.

    Can you access the Windows partition and its files from within OSX?

    Could you please give the output from the following terminal commands in OSX?
    sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
    sudo fdisk /dev/disk0

    Those assume that you have only one hard drive in your Mac (disk0).
     
  3. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #3
    Hi :) thank you for your reply

    If you mean can I access the files from the Finder then yes I can do that

    and these are what came up when I typed in those commands:

    Last login: Wed Mar 26 00:24:19 on console
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo gpt -r -vv show disk0
    Password:
    gpt show: disk0: mediasize=500277790720; sectorsize=512; blocks=977105060
    gpt show: disk0: PMBR at sector 0
    gpt show: disk0: Pri GPT at sector 1
    gpt show: disk0: Sec GPT at sector 977105059
    start size index contents
    0 1 PMBR
    1 1 Pri GPT header
    2 32 Pri GPT table
    34 6
    40 409600 1 GPT part - C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B
    409640 730743168 2 GPT part - 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
    731152808 3672
    731156480 1269536 3 GPT part - 426F6F74-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC
    732426016 4320
    732430336 244674560 4 GPT part - EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7
    977104896 131
    977105027 32 Sec GPT table
    977105059 1 Sec GPT header
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
    Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 60821/255/63 [977105060 sectors]
    Signature: 0xAA55
    Starting Ending
    #: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1: EE 0 0 2 - 1023 1 1 [ 1 - 4294967295] <Unknown ID>
    2: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
    3: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
    4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$
     
  4. Quackers, Mar 25, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014

    Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #4
    Sorry for the delay in replying.
    How old is your MacBook Air?
    Do you know if Windows was installed in EFI mode or CSM (bios) mode?

    If it's the former then your fdisk output is correct.
    If it's the latter then it appears that your hybrid MBR has become a protective MBR. It may be enough to create a new hybrid MBR with gdisk, but the mode of installation should be clarified first.

    EDIT
    To clarify the installation mode you can navigate to the Bootcamp partition in OSX and open the Windows folder (as in C:\Windows) and look for a folder called "Panther".
    Open that folder and you should see a "setupact.log" file.
    Right-click that file and choose to open with textedit.
    Once open look in the menu bar at the top of your screen and select Edit > Find and in the contact menu that then opens up select Find.
    In your newly opened setupact.log file you will see a search bar has appeared at the top.
    Type this into the search field
    Detected boot environment
    This will highlight that particular text in the window and just after that entry will be the word BIOS or EFI.

    Which is shown in yours?
     
  5. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #5
    Hi no problems I appreciate any help at all!

    I get to the Panther file then I can't continue your instructions... The file you said the set up one isn't there.

    And my MBA is a couple of months old, it's the 2013 version. :)
     
  6. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #6
    So the Panther folder is there but it doesn't have a setupact.log in it?
     
  7. robertpovall, Mar 25, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2014

    robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #7
    That is correct :/

    EDIT:
    It's very late for me now in Italy so I'm going to have to go to sleep but I'll be back on tomorrow and will give any more information necessary... Thank you for your help:)
     
  8. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    I'm stumped now, trying to think of another way to find out the installation mode.

    The problem is that the 2013 MBA can install Windows natively in EFI mode.
    If that's the case for your machine then we should not create a hybrid MBR. It should remain a protective MBR.
    Most previous Macs cannot install Windows in EFI through Bootcamp. Yours is different.

    EDIT
    Ok I'll have a sleep on it too :)

    ----------

    Oh wait!
    If you mount your EFI partition and look at its contents you will see a Microsoft folder inside the EFI folder if it's an EFI installation.

    In OSX open a terminal and run this

    mkdir /Volumes/efi

    then run

    sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi

    Then open a Finder window and at the bottom of the left pane you'll see an EFI option.
    Click on that and the contents will appear in the right pane.
    What is shown?
    DO NOT delete anything! Just view the contents.
     
  9. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #9
    Ok well there is an EFI file thing and then inside there's APPLE then inside that there is EXTENSIONS and FIRMWARE
    In EXTENSIONS: Firmware.scap
    And in FIRMWARE:MBA61_B07_LOCKED.scap

    This is looking more and more like my windows partition is screwed :/
     
  10. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #10
    Maybe not. Those contents are normal for a CSM (bios) mode installation of Windows.
    Which means that your fdisk output is wrong.
    Which means that a new hybrid MBR may get it booting again - though other things could be wrong too.

    Are you in a position to download a small program? I mean only about 300 KB in size, if I remember correctly.
    If you are please get this pkg file and install it in OSX (get the top one, version 0.8.10 from the top of the page, not the top of the list).
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/files/gptfdisk/0.8.9/gdisk-binaries/
     
  11. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #11
    Sure I can download something that small yeah, will do it now...

    And once I've got it what shall I do?
     
  12. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #12
    Once it's installed open up a terminal in OSX and assuming you have only one hard drive installed run

    sudo gdisk /dev/disk0
    and enter your password, then

    type "r" (no quotes) and press enter
    type "h" and press enter

    You'll get a warning that hybrid MBR's are flaky and dangerous. That's ok.

    It will ask for 1 to 3 partition numbers (space separated) so I would suggest you enter

    2 3 4 (one space between each) and press enter

    It will ask if you want to include the EFI partition first in MBR
    answer Y and press enter

    you will get default entries for partition 2 - accept them by pressing enter BUT
    the last question will ask if you want to make the partition bootable - answer N and press enter.

    Do the same for partition 3

    For partition 4 accept defaults (checking that type 07 is the default option for partition type) but when it asks you if you want to make partition 4 bootable - answer Y and press enter.

    When finished type "w" and press enter - to write changes to the partition table.

    Answer Y to continue.

    When done type "q" to quit gdisk
    Close terminal

    Reboot holding Alt key and see if Windows appears in the boot menu - try to boot it.
     
  13. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #13
    Ok... so I followed your steps perfectly and there's good and bad news.

    First of all : windows is in the boot menu now.
    BUT
    Now there is a new black screen with lots more text, the first screen I see says all this:

    drive 0x00(LBA): C/H/SS=G0822/255/63, Sector Count/Size=977105438/512
    Partition nun: 0, Filesystem type fat, partition type 0xEE
    Partition nun: 1, Filesystem type unknown, partition type 0xEE
    Partition nun: 2, then it says same as above
    Partition nun: 3, same again

    ****

    Options if your HDD is larger than 1TB:
    * Move your boot files to a smaller partition at the start of the HDD.
    * Format the HDD and allow Windows to create a 100MB boot partition
    * Shrink and move your partitions with GParter

    Press any key to read more...
    -

    ---END of what it says on the first screen

    then there's another two screens with lots of text and then a list of Windows/vista/server and stuff... can post everything if necessary but maybe you recognise it just from the first screen
     
  14. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #14
    I've not seen anything like that before.
    Can you please post the output of the following terminal command in OSX
    sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
     
  15. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #15
    Last login: Wed Mar 26 15:30:14 on console
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo fdisk /dev/disk0
    Password:
    Disk: /dev/disk0 geometry: 60821/255/63 [977105060 sectors]
    Signature: 0xAA55
    Starting Ending
    #: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1: EE 0 0 2 - 25 127 14 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
    2: AF 25 127 15 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 730743168] HFS+
    3: AB 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 731156480 - 1269536] Darwin Boot
    *4: 07 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 732430336 - 244674560] HPFS/QNX/AUX
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$


    those are the results...

    I'm so annoyed at Camptune X, this is what it's designed for and it's completely failed...

    Thank you for all your help so far I really appreciate it.
     
  16. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #16
    I know how you feel. Camptune X wrecked both my Windows and my OSX installations. I had to start from scratch to get them back.

    Your partition structure looks fine. Just as it should.
    What's less sure is the partition sizes. I don't know whether the sizes shown in the fdisk output are the same as they were before or whether they are the Camptune X resized version.
    We also don't know whether Camptune X performed successfully in this respect.

    Try rebooting again and hold the Alt key then try booting Windows again.
    See if the same thing happens again.
     
  17. robertpovall, Mar 26, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2014

    robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #17
    :/ That's terrible :/

    And I have restarted it now a few times and the same problem... :/

    Edit:
    Just a random thought but maybe doing a Camptune X re-size again might have some sort of an effect?
     
  18. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #18
    Odd :confused:
    If you open gdisk again with
    sudo gdisk /dev/disk0

    when it's opened type in "v" with no quotes and hit enter.
    Please report any errors shown.

    If none, type "p" no quotes and hit enter.

    Please paste that whole contents of that terminal window in your next post (from start to finish).
     
  19. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #19
    Okie dokes here you go:

    Last login: Wed Mar 26 15:56:28 on console
    Roberts-MacBook-Air:~ robertpovall$ sudo gdisk /dev/disk0
    Password:
    GPT fdisk (gdisk) version 0.8.10

    Warning: Devices opened with shared lock will not have their
    partition table automatically reloaded!
    Partition table scan:
    MBR: hybrid
    BSD: not present
    APM: not present
    GPT: present

    Found valid GPT with hybrid MBR; using GPT.

    Command (? for help): v

    No problems found. 8129 free sectors (4.0 MiB) available in 4
    segments, the largest of which is 4320 (2.1 MiB) in size.

    Command (? for help): p
    Disk /dev/disk0: 977105060 sectors, 465.9 GiB
    Logical sector size: 512 bytes
    Disk identifier (GUID): 4F6DAD7A-AE40-43A4-8908-C10F896CDBF7
    Partition table holds up to 128 entries
    First usable sector is 34, last usable sector is 977105026
    Partitions will be aligned on 8-sector boundaries
    Total free space is 8129 sectors (4.0 MiB)

    Number Start (sector) End (sector) Size Code Name
    1 40 409639 200.0 MiB EF00 EFI System Partition
    2 409640 731152807 348.4 GiB AF00 Customer
    3 731156480 732426015 619.9 MiB AB00 Recovery HD
    4 732430336 977104895 116.7 GiB 0700 BOOTCAMP

    Command (? for help):
     
  20. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #20
    Other than the second partition being labelled "customer" instead of the more usual "Macintosh HD" I don't see anything wrong with your partition structure.

    Unfortunately we are limited in what we can do whilst you are travelling. Having a Windows installation dvd/usb might be helpful, but that can't be helped (short of downloading a new one).
    Even with that I'm uncertain that we could fix it.

    With things how they are I would expect Windows to boot normally or to fail to boot giving an error message (such as Missing operating system, for instance).
    As this is not happening and I don't understand the pages of text it is giving you I don't know what to suggest.

    It may be worth contacting Camptune X's support service (if they have one) and telling them exactly what has happened, asking them how to proceed from here.

    I'll keep reviewing your predicament in the hope that something comes to mind but in all honesty I'm not that hopeful.

    If you start up Bootcamp Assistant is the option to remove Windows available or is that option greyed out?
     
  21. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #21
    Yes :/ It is very frustrating and as I said I paid for Camptune X to simplify this job and I can't believe that it's so completely screwed up my partition. This product shouldn't be for sale if this is what it does.

    And as for the deleting Windows partition option, that's available in the assistant...
     
  22. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #22
    Ok, so that means OSX is aware that you have a Windows installation. A partitioning error could leave that option greyed out.

    I'm assuming that you have no USB devices plugged in when trying to boot Windows?
     
  23. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
  24. Quackers macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #24
    Thanks, it's puzzling that it doesn't appear to try to boot Windows at all.
    It appears to be listing partitions - wrongly, as it happens. I've never seen that before. It's almost as if it's not looking for Windows.

    If you would be happier returning the partition table to how it was when you started this thread (i.e. after Camptune X resized it) you can use gdisk to create a protective MBR, which will negate what we did previously with the hybrid MBR.
     
  25. robertpovall thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    #25
    Well in the meantime I actually tried a resize again to see what happened and it went back to step one so something is definitely wrong with Camptune as it's creating the same environment.

    Not sure what to do really. I'm so frustrated that I just want to delete the Windows partition and start again when I'm home if it's irreparable...
     

Share This Page