Used iMac purchase

MattLightfoot81

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 1, 2019
Birmingham, UK
Hi all

Is there anyone out there that could give me some technical advice on purchasing a used iMac? I'm a photographer, I'll be running LR and PS with a graphics tab. I only use a Windows based laptop at the minute and it took 5 hours to export 102 photos in LR yesterday. I've had enough.

I'm quite experienced with Windows pc's but Apple is a new venture for me. So, as a new user I have some queries and hoping there is someone in here more experienced than I am.

I have a limited budget and so far that has pushed me to around a 2011 model 27" i7 machine with 24gb RAM and 1gb graphics card. Is a 2011 model too old? By that I mean screen resolution not being 4/5k only 1080p and heard they sometimes run hot? Is it worth waiting and upping my budget or looking for a different model. I'm quite happy to upgrade as I go but way that I may be purchasing a machine that's outdated before I've even got used to it.

On the plus side, I get the presumption that even a 2011 imac would blow me away after what I've been putting up with.

Is there anything I should look out for/avoid?

Thanks

Khaleal

macrumors regular
Aug 24, 2013
Don't get anything older than 2012 (or maybe 2013). While the CPUs still kick ass, the GPUs in older iMacs are very underpowered and lack the VRAM, and can't even drive the OS GUI smoothly.

Reactions: mikehalloran

ScreenSavers

macrumors 6502a
Feb 26, 2016
Bloomingdale, GA
I'd go for the 4K or even better 27" 5K if you can afford it. I have the late 2015 5K iMac and it's a beast of a machine. Those AMD processors like the one you're coming from are dreadfully slow so you'd notice a difference immediately. And an SSD is a must have!

Zdigital2015

macrumors 68000
Jul 14, 2015
East Coast, United States
Hi all