Used iPhone 3G questions

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DJohm, Jul 29, 2010.

1. DJohm macrumors member

I've been a Macbook Pro user for the past 4 years, love apple products (iTouch, classic) but never had the inclination of buying an iPhone. A co-worker recently offered to sell his good condition 3G with a manufacture date of 49th week of 2008 (Dec.) for $125.00 and NO contract on it. Looked up ebay and appears the price to be fair, especially after seeing the phone in person and played with it. Phone's touch screen works good, plugged it in my iTunes and recognized SW update to 4.0.1. I'd like to pull the trigger on it but with a few concerns.

1. He hasn't erased all info and left his sim card in the phone but not active and no plans to retrieve it. Question is, even though the phone is not active, but having the sim IN it, shouldn't the AT&T name show up on top left corner? It currently shows "No Service". Does the sim need to be active in order for AT&T network to recognize it?

2. Battery life expectancy... not sure how well he maintained the battery but wondering here if the battery is replaceable and how much?

3. I looked at the earphone plug and see that the "strip" is still white not pink, anywhere else to look for indication of water damage?

4. Finally, what other tests do I need to do on it before I decide to go for it or not?

Some may ask, why not just purchase a new 3GS with subsidized price of $99? I don't wanna deal with 2 year contract is the reason. BTW, I know the guy pretty well, seen him use the phone in the past year, we're both licensed professional, so I'm pretty certain that it's not stolen.

I'll appreciate any advice you guys may have for me. Sorry for the noob questions and lengthy post. Thanks in advance.

2. Intell macrumors P6

Intell