used lacie big disk d2?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Keebler, Apr 23, 2008.

  1. Keebler macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi there,

    A buddy is selling his used (less than a year) lacie big disk d2 triple interface 1 TB (fw 400, 800 and usb2).

    How much should i offer? new ones are anywhere between $290 and $350 from what I can find. i don't want to lowball him of course, but i really don't know what to offer (and he doesn't know what to sell it for).

    I have plenty of externals, but another could easily be used.

    thoughts?

    Cheers,
    Keebler
     
  2. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
  3. kuebby macrumors 68000

    kuebby

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Location:
    SFV
    #3
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU like Mac OS X; en) AppleWebKit/420.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.0 Mobile/4A102 Safari/419.3)

    I agree, 200ish is fair.
     
  4. Outsiderdude26 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Location:
    New England
  5. krye macrumors 68000

    krye

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    $200 tops.

    Reminder, the d2's use two drives in a RAID. So the 1T enclosure contains two 500G drives. If one drive dies, you loose ALL your data. You can't get your data off one drive if the other dies. I'd rather spend the $200 on a single drive solution. Just my 2 cents.
     
  6. Keebler thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    Thanks for the feedback. It's going to house my music and photos which are backed up on DVD, as well as another external.

    The only question is which RAID # is it formatted in? Isn't there 1 version that copies to the other HD so if one crashes, the data is there? I'm all backed up anyways, but it's a thought.

    Cheers,
    Keebler
     
  7. dcubed20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #7
    As opposed to if you have a one drive solution and one drive dies, and you lose all your data?

    Is there a way to re-configure the d2 to mirror instead of stripe?
     

Share This Page