Used Mac Pro Advice

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by sarantosser, Dec 15, 2010.

1. sarantosser macrumors newbie

Hey all,

I'm a long time reader! Usually I can find the info i need through other posts, but this time I'm struggling.

I'm in the market for a Mac Pro. I'm your standard poor uni student, so that puts a new system out of the question. So I've placed my budget at around $1400 for a used Mac Pro system.

I'm in the early stages, but I remember reading a while back that going for the Mac Pro 1,1 is not such a good idea. So what would you guys recommend for me?

I'll give you a breakdown of my requirements and needs.

So my plan is to have a OSX boot installation, with programs such as Adobe Suite and other design oriented programs installed on a small sized SSD, and then storing majority of my other files on another HDD drive. However, I am an industrial design student, and so will require various graphics and processor intensive programs such as Solidworks and 3DS Max. So my plan would be to have a Windows installation on another HDD.

So keeping this in mind, I hope you can answer some of my main questions:

1. For this kind of use what is the minimum processor i should aim for.I would think the QuadCore 2.66 setup is sufficient in this respect, but as i mentioned earlier, remember someone warning against this model for todays use.

2. I would hope for around a minimum 6GB RAM, with the possibility of upgrade in the future. Is there a severe increase in RAM performance with the change from a used models DDR2 RAM to current DDR3 RAM models?

3. I have no idea which graphics card i require for my uses. But am I limited as i require something that can handle intensive Solidworks?

So based on all this, which model of Mac Pro should I go for?

Thanks in advance, and sorry for the long post, but i had a lot of questions.
    Phew!

James

2. nanofrog macrumors G4