Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rodgertakeuchi

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 4, 2008
Hi All,

Long time reader, first time poster.

I had a question as to which mac I should get. I've been scoping out for a new computer, my current powerbook 12in 1.5gig just isn't cutting it for rasterizing or even just basic multi tasking.

I'm a graphic designer and use mostly Illustrator, Photoshop, Indesign, some dreamweaver and some flash. I use a 1.8 dual g5 at work which smokes my home computer, my work computer was bought used and now I've been thinking of going down the same path.

However I have come to a dilemma -- while I know everyone says that I should get the most expensive I just can't afford to have the best of the best, ie MacPro -- buy a brand new Mac and have to purchase new creative software (more money) or buy a used Powermac Quad g5. Both of which cost about the same amount of money which is around $1500. I don't like the idea of paying so much for a used Mac that either may be doa or just the idea of what may be under the hood. I've also heard of leaking liquid coolant and other scary stuff.

However for a new Imac there are issues there too. As it would mean a new OS and new software. The new creative software is the kicker. My girlfriend just got into school so I can buy a discounted package with her, but money is strapped. Does a Imac really have the processing power of a Quad g5? I long for a MacPro as I hate the idea of having to scrap a nice monitor when an all-in-one's time is up. What do you guys think? I have been going more towards a Imac, just hoping its not a waste.

-Thanks in advanced

bigrell486

macrumors 6502
Jul 10, 2006
Home
If you don't have to buy immediately and can wait a little bit to get an extra $500, Apple sells refurb Mac Pro for $1999 and occasionally a slightly older model pops up for $1799.