Used white macbook 2.16 core 2 duo

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by lmvo23, Jan 14, 2010.

1. lmvo23 macrumors newbie

How much would you pay for a used macbook with these specs:

Model Identifier: MacBook2.1
    Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
    Processor Speed: 2.16 GHz
    L2 Cache: 4 MB
    Memory: 2 GB
    Bus Speed: 667 MHz
    Harddrive: 120gb
    Running Snow Leopard 10.6.2

They said the case wasn't discolored but had a crack in the keyboard "that most macbooks have".

I need a laptop for taking notes in lectures and for taking into the lab, so it doesn't need to be brand new. I'm a grad student, so I'm poor, which is why I'm looking at craigslist. They are asking $520 for it; is that a good deal or should I try to talk them down?

2. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...that machine was just on the apple refurb store (USA) for $649 or $679 but I just checked and both are now gone...

They do still have the most current non-unibody whitebook for $749 and IMHOP that is the best deal with the 9400m graphics... it comes with a 1 year applecare warranty also and you'd be eligible to upgrade it to the 3 year applecare if you wanted to spend the extra $$ for it...

http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC240LL/A?mco=MTA4MzIxNjk

3. Jordan6 macrumors regular

That's a pretty good deal.

4. eman macrumors 6502a

Here's a macbook on ebay with the same spec's, selling for $500 with a BIN and free shipping. Use MS bing cashback and get this item for $460.

5. lmvo23 thread starter macrumors newbie

No one really answered my question?

Honestly I don't want to buy a refub because once I start talking about spending $750 I might as well spend $900 on a new one in the education store..then I might as well spend 1100$ on a MacBook pro, etc....not that I have the money.

And that eBay auction no longer has BIN option. Besides, I'm more skeptical of buying one online than buying one that I've actually gotten to play around with.