User Experience Poll on the new Control Panel

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by freepomme, Sep 17, 2016.

?

Does your finger accidentally slide the Control Panel when trying to adjust brightness?

  1. It has happened

    63 vote(s)
    55.3%
  2. It's never happened

    51 vote(s)
    44.7%
  1. freepomme, Sep 17, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016

    freepomme macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    [​IMG] When changing the brightness, the new control panel moves to the side when you're trying to adjust it.

    Please state what you think about the new Control Panel.
     
  2. inkahauts macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    #2
    Have to make sure you are placing your finger on the dot. It works fine for me..
     
  3. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #3
    I just brought up cc and adjusted brightness 3 times. Not once there, or any other time I've adjusted the horizontal brightness or volume controls, have I done anything other than what i intended to do. I can only suggest being more careful because those are standard iOS slider controls and have worked the same way for 9 years.
     
  4. freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    It happened again just now. You might have 100 percent accuracy but I just tried it and the same thing happened. We need more numbers, we need DOCUMENTATION.

    And that is what I'm going to provide for you now. Everything I experience I document!
     
  5. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #5
    I genuinely am not trying to be mean here but what possible documentation could you require for operation of a slider control? :confused:
     
  6. freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #6
    Look.
     
  7. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #7
    Just try adjust brightness on iPhone and iPad. Not trigger anything but brightness adjustment.
     
  8. freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I noticed they've changed the slider button to be bigger now so that we wouldn't run into this problem. I remember in iOS 7 when the slider wasn't a dot, it was a line.
     
  9. matrix07 macrumors 68040

    matrix07

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #9
    Yes it's very big. Easy target. The music control slider will also get bigger if you press it.
     
  10. freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #10
    It's still somewhat of a problem for me. You can't be as liberal with it as you use to in the last version of iOS. If you're not precise, the whole thing moves. I actually end up adjusting the brightness constantly.
     
  11. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #11
    Ha! Well I've owned the iPhone 4 and every model since then, and I can tell you that this control does NOT work the same as brightness did all those years.

    There are three issues:

    1. The control panel should be a single panel. Multiple "cards" that slide around and move are retarded.

    2. Once your finger is on the slider control, if it slides off it even a bit the whole panel starts to slide. You have to do this all in one rapid motion to get it to happen.

    3. Auto brightness is still broken. Every iPhone I get, I give auto brightness another chance, and it fails each time. I'm in a nearly pitch dark room right now, and the phone has put the brightness at a blinding 30%.
     
  12. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #12
    Try recalibrating auto-brightness. I've been using it for years without any issues.

    As for control center being a single panel, if they tried to fit in everything they have now into one panel there would no doubt be plenty of people complaining how cramped everything is, how easy it is to accidentally do something unintentional while trying to do something else because things are so close and/or so small in order to fit everything, how a bunch of things are harder to reach at the top of the screen (since the panel would have to take up most of the screen to fit everything), etc.
     
  13. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #13
    I know, I'm the only person who it doesn't work for. Oh well.

    There is already so much wasted space, with the gigantic night shift button for example, that adding music back on the single panel would be no problem. And the panel could be extended up the screen even further if need be. It already grabs full focus, so why even show so much of the screen behind it?
     
  14. yep-sure macrumors 6502

    yep-sure

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    No issue for me. I can't replicate the problem.
     
  15. one more macrumors 6502a

    one more

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Location:
    Earth
    #15
    I have been using Auto brightness on iPhone SE & iPad Air 2 for a while now and it generally works well, but I have also noticed that some third party apps (like book readers, etc.) can interfere with it. Try toggling the auto-brightness slider OFF & ON, as you put it back ON it should instantly adjust to the correct auto-level.

    I agree that they should have kept the single panel for the entire Control Centre toggles/sliders. They could just let it fill more of the screen vertically, if needed, as it stays up for a few seconds to adjust something anyway.
     
  16. freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    Single Panel was better. Now, not only do they have multiple cards, but the space is not used as efficiently. Which ends up with the problem we have now. Not being able to control what we're intending to control.

    Lots of wasted space. You've got 2 cards doing the same thing we used to be able to do in 1.

    Whenever you try to interact with the control panel, the thing slides between the two cards! :rolleyes:
     
  17. Feenician, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016

    Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #17
    I cannot reproduce what you describe. Once I touch the control I can throw my finger around the entire screen, circles, zigzag, fast, slow and the slider remains engaged. I just tested both brightness and volume several times and the only time it didn't work that way was when I missed the volume control.

    Edit: it occurs that there's very little point "arguing" this however. That it works for me hardly helps you
     
  18. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #18
    It has happened to me, but only a few times. And I've been using the beta since early July.
     
  19. maxsix Suspended

    maxsix

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Location:
    Western Hemisphere
    #19
    Apple's attempt to use cards is in its infancy. They're bound to have issues as they go through the learning curve.

    That said, Google's implementation is truly outstanding. Using my Nexus 6P with its stellar highly useful Google Now Cards proves that once Apple learns how to create a proper working card protocol, they'll be fine.

    Everyone copies, but now Apple must learn to do a better job of it.
     
  20. stooovie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    #20
    I don't like the new cards thing but no, the swipe detection is very smart and accurate. It's very good at discerning between trying to adjust brightness/volume (which is usually a shorter, slower swipe) and trying to access the other card (faster, longer swipe).
     
  21. freepomme, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016

    freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    I can see how it's trying to have that "swipe detection"... but the poll is saying that most people are accidentally moving the card while trying to adjust volume.

    It's slippery. You have to touch it like a robot in order for it to work. This didn't happen in iOS 9 because the control panel didn't move.

    Now you have a gliding control panel with controls you also have to glide.

    This needs to be changed. Why does the brightness have to be a slider/scrubber? And a horizontal one at that?

    There's better ways to adjust brightness than this.[​IMG]
     
  22. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #22
    Correct, it's irrelevant that you're apparently immune to Apple's poor programming of this particular slider control.
     
  23. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #23
    I can only report what I experience. If I hit the slider control then any subsequent movement of my finger moves the slider and the slider only. If I miss the slider with the first touch the opposite is true, no amount of moving my finger will do anything but slide the panels. Reports of hitting the slider and anything but the slider moving are contrary to my experience.
     
  24. freepomme, Sep 18, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2016

    freepomme thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #24
    He's right. You're right. Once you've touched the slider, you can move it at will.

    So the problem here is the fingers missing the slider.

    We've agreed.

    But now, look at this! You touch the slider and then move your finger up or down, look what happens.

    If you touch the slider and then move your finger up or down, then iOS thinks you don't intend to adjust the brightness.

    As long as you touch the slider and immediately move your finger left or right, then you've fully engaged the slider control.

    So as long as you're precise it will work. However, when I'm casually and quickly adjusting the brightness, I'm not that precise. It's like autocorrect. Autocorrect allows you to just type without being too precise.
     
  25. M. Gustave macrumors 68000

    M. Gustave

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Location:
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    #25
    50% of respondents so far agree that there's a problem.
     

Share This Page