User & Group Permissions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kizersoze, Nov 1, 2008.

1. kizersoze macrumors newbie

I'm new to the iMac (this week) but have had some experience on *nix all though it's been a while.

I've been through the man pages for chown and chgrp and can't quite figure out how to accomplish the following, or if it's even possible.

I'd like to create a directory/folder that users of a specific group have read/write access to but also each user having the access to edit each others files in that directory/folder.

For example, my wife and I can currently create documents in a folder I created called FamilyDocs, however I can't change any documents that she creates (were both Admins). How can I solve this? Is there a way to do this without setting up a cron job to periodically reset the permissions in a tree?

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks!
    :apple:

2. belvdr macrumors 603

If you and your wife have a common group, you can:

Code:
    find <directory> -type f -exec chown <common group> {} \;
    find <directory> -type f -exec chmod 660 {} \;
    That'll take care of the files.

For the directories:

Code:
    find <directory> -type d -exec chown <common group> {} \;
    find <directory> -type d -exec chmod 770 {} \;
    That will only allow user in that common group to access either the directories or the files.

umask is what determines the permissions of files and directories created. If you want your primary group to be different, you'll need to modify the users and specify that.

3. kizersoze thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the help, however I'm getting an invalid argument on the first chown. Also, going forward for any new created documents by either myself or my wife will we be able to edit those? I found this article and it may explain why I'm seeing permission issues.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=638316&postcount=7

4. kizersoze thread starter macrumors newbie