Using 2 Displays

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by dukeofism, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. dukeofism macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #1
    I have just discovered the wonders of using 2 monitors and how much it can help productivity!

    Currently I have a MBP 15" with a MiniVideo to VGA adapter which allows me to connect my computer to my old PC monitor. I am looking for the best way to be able to connect my computer to a TV via the standard video input (or maybe the S-Video input). Does anyone have recommendations on how to do this?
     
  2. gatepc macrumors 6502

    gatepc

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #2
    By standard do you mean the white red yellow wires? both them and the S-video will only supply 640x480 res video which in general terms means it will be completely useless. Does your TV have an HDMI in?
     
  3. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #3
    It isn't easy to connect to a TV with mini displayport unless you have HDMI or VGA hookups on your TV.
     
  4. dukeofism thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    #4
    My TV does have HDMI. What is the max resolutions supported by HDMI and by VGA?
     
  5. LTX macrumors regular

    LTX

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    #5
    HDMI goes up to 1080p (1920x1080) and VGA gets quite a bit more (as it was used with large CRT monitors). There are pros and cons of each standard, however, that I do not have information on. I believe that HDMI is better than VGA, even though it has a smaller resolution. Someone please correct me if I am mistaken.
     
  6. sergev macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #6
    the only solution for using two displays at a macbook pro without using a splitter is using a external gpu, like the asus xg station. There you would have to put in a mac capable gpu, which uses a apple efi rom, instead of a pc bios rom. All in all, a costly operation. Not to mention the difficulty to find a asus xg station, as these are only available in Australia.

    But if you would manage to get you hands on one of these, you would still have to buy a, lets say nvidia GT120 from apple. And a mini displayport to dvi cable to use two ports.

    I'm just saying, its possible. But dont ask me what you would have to do for it! It's much, and I mean MUCH easier to buy just one 30 display... More than enough room to play with...
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Here's a chart that shows the resolutions under different revisions of the specification. The highest is 2160p @ 24 frames/s under rev. 1.4. VGA is much lower, as it's max is 640x480 (it's much older as well).

    You'd be able to use a DVI-I to HDMI cable. :)
     

Share This Page