Using 2G Iphone on T-Mobile

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sdmac, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. sdmac macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #1
    Okay, I searched but couldn't find the answer.

    I sold my Iphone 2G on ebay and the buyer is using it on T-Mobile.

    I unlocked and jailbroke it using Redsnow. I also upgraded to the 3.0 OS.

    Can someone point me in the right direction on how this guy needs to get it working on t-mobile. I googled and found alot of answers on the old OS but not much on the 3.0 OS. Anyone here done it sucessfully?
     
  2. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    ...don't u just pop in the sim card? i don't get what's so difficult.
     
  3. sdmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #3
    I don't know that is why I am asking from someone that has actually done it.

    I read that you have to have a certain APN setting such as:

    wap.voicestream.com
     
  4. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    to simply use t-mobile, all u need to do is pop in your sim card and you're good to go.

    the apn settings are only for using EDGE. however, if you don't have a web data plan from tmobile, you can't use edge.

    i use tmobile with my 2G iphone if that helps :)
     
  5. sdmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #5
    cool. so did you update to 3.0 OS on your 2G.
     
  6. pelicanflip macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    yup, running 3.0 OS just fine, using EDGE to it's fullest, no problems so far.
     
  7. Kwats macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #7
    I have a data plan and i use my EDGE just fine on t-mobile.


    The Wap.voicestream.com thing is just for data otherwise just put your simcard into the phone and it will work fine. But if he wants to use edge then he needs the apn as the wap.voicestream.com
     
  8. GeekGirl* macrumors 65816

    GeekGirl*

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
  9. ilko macrumors member

    ilko

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Location:
    The Highest Point on Manhattan
    #9
    I unlocked my old 2G iPhone yesterday and all I had to do was change the SIM card to T-Mobile and it worked.
     
  10. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #10
    pop in sim

    wap.voicestream.com is for his data to work if he has one.
     
  11. sdmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #11
    Thanks everyone. The buyer has emailed me about 100 times since the auction ended so I can imagine he will have another 100 questions once he receives the phone. I finally asked him if he was sure he wanted it because I can't sit around and offer technical support 24/7. I mean I wanna sell it but geeezzz
     
  12. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    Give him this forum address if he wants to find out how to do things. He can read just like you can.
     
  13. sdmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #13
    Agreed. I do have a question out of curiosity though. When I go to Settings-General-network there isn't an option for APN settings. I assume it is hidden. How do you unhide?

    Okay I downloaded APN editor from Cydia but the APN settings still don't show up.

    I also went here but no luck Try:

    1) h t t p ://unlockit.co.nz/ (Access this website from your iPhone)



    Thanks
     
  14. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    If the APN does not show up in there then you/he has to use the phone browser with wi-fi and go here http://help.benm.at/usa.php, and then click on the T-Mobile part of it and that should work . At least it has for others.
     
  15. sdmac thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #15
    thanks. I went to the website and downloaded the t-mobile profile. When I go to settings>general there is now a profile that says t-mobile with the wap.voicestream.com

    I assume this should do the trick. If not he can log on here and read up on it

    thanks again everyone
     
  16. Sir SpemzR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Inland Empire
    #16
    Sorry to thread jack
    but i didnt want to start another thread
    when i can ask in this one

    I currently have a sidekick lx on tmobile
    and i want to get an iphone but keep my tmobile plan (myFaves FTW)
    i know my myFaves will still work, ill just have to change them online.

    on my tmobile plan i have
    • 300 Minutes
    • Unlimited Text/Media Messages
    • Unlimited Email (tmail)
    • Unlimited Web

    Would all that still carry onto the iPhone?
    or will i have to pay for the web or text/media msgs?
     
  17. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #17
    All that will work but as for MyFavs, i wouldnt imagine it would work the same way since the iPhone isnt a T-Mobile phone but i dont really know, i dont have MyFavs.
     

Share This Page