Using 2nd router to extend signal

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by MasterMatt, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. MasterMatt macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #1
    Hello,
    My main computer is an iMac, and we have a bunch of other devices on the wifi network. I've got an old router laying around, so I would like to know a way to use that to extend the network. I've been looking on the internet, and I've seen some info on "access points", but I'm wondering if it's possible to do without connecting the 2nd router to the 1st with an ethernet cable. Is there a way to connect them wirelessly? Thanks
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    Assuming you have an Airport Base Station, you can use another Airport Extreme or Express to extend your network.
     
  3. MasterMatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #3
    Haha that's quite an assumption. No I don't, but that would make things much easier. Just because I have a Mac, doesn't mean I use all Apple products for everything. :)
     
  4. mainstay, Oct 5, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2011

    mainstay macrumors 6502

    mainstay

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    BC
    #4
    So instead of making us guess, it would help if you provided model numbers so people won't have to make assumptions.

    GENERALLY, most run-of-the-mill wireless routers won't bridge with another router to extend a network. Usually the simple/cheap answer is to turn off DHCP on the 2nd router and connect them via ethernet.

    If that isn't an option you may be able to flash their firmware with 3rd party firmware like: http://www.dd-wrt.com/

    Or you may have to replace the 2nd router with an AP than can specifically bridge to the 1st.
     

Share This Page