Using 3Gs on ATT w/o data plan?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Apple Corps, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. Apple Corps macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #1
    I now have an iPhone 4 and am getting ready to sell my 3Gs. However, a family member would love to have the 3Gs but does not use texting, email, etc.

    Is there a way I can use the 3Gs on our ATT Family plan but without the cost of a data plan? My new iPhone 4 is on the Family Plan.

    Is this where "unlocking" the iPhone would apply?

    Very basic question - easier (for me) to ask than searching.
     
  2. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #2
    Just put that current persons sim into the 3GS and it will work. Make sure you disable cellular data (assuming you are on iOS4) so that person doesn't rack up any additional costs.

    That's what I am doing right now but AT&T may start bugging you about adding a data plan.
     
  3. Apple Corps thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #3
    That sounds plenty easy - I'll give it a go after dinner.

    Thanks :)
     
  4. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #4
    iPhones require data plans on AT&T so if you do that be warned that AT&T may automatically add the data plan...
     
  5. Apple Corps thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #5
    So would that be a case where I would unlock the iPhone 3Gs and purchase a simple voice plan from Verizon maybe?
     
  6. ToroidalZeus macrumors 68020

    ToroidalZeus

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #6
    A) you can't use an iPhone with Verizon because of the hardware
    B) with a bare min of $15/mo for the data, that would still be cheaper then any simple voice plan.
     
  7. Apple Corps thread starter macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    California
    #7
    I forgot - GSM vs CDMA - :eek:

    I may just try the simm until ATT gets after me.

    Non productive rant - we use very little bandwidth but "must" pay for device specific bandwidth that we don't use. Great for their profit, poor for our value.
     

Share This Page