Using a 1,1 as a server.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by AmanO, Jul 5, 2015.

  1. AmanO, Jul 5, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

    AmanO macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Mac Pro 4,1 6 core 3.46, 16 of 1333. GTX970
    #1
    If I run the OS off a slow PATA drive, will that affect transfer rates that much with stored files on 2 SATA drives?

    Also, will I benefit enough to warrant jumping through the hoops to get Mav/Yos on there? Should I even go XP?
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Transfer speeds are going to be limited more by the network than the local disk access speeds.
     
  3. AmanO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Mac Pro 4,1 6 core 3.46, 16 of 1333. GTX970
    #3
    OK. So the "overhead" of going though the OS is minimal? I meant more of the OS handling the transfers.

    Actually, I think my net speeds will be better than that PATA drive. Gigabit, even with overhead is 100MBPS.
     
  4. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #4
    GbE is 125 MB/sec raw. Even with overhead, file sharing protocols deliver 110 to 120 MB/sec on good networks.

    So, yes, the PATA drive could easily be the bottleneck.
     
  5. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Realistic speeds will be more in the neighborhood of 80MBps. Thats not saying that you will not ever see 100MBps just that you will not see sustained transfer speeds at 100MBps.
    Normal realistic speeds will be more in the neighborhood of 80MBps. Thats not to say that sustained transfer speeds of 100MBps are not reachable, just that they are not realistic and much harder to achieve.

    The OP is storing the data on SATA drives so PATA speeds are not an concern.
     
  6. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #6
    That's funny - one task for me this weekend has been to move about 25 TB of real data over my home network to rationalize some file server assignments.

    12 hour averages over 110 MB/sec have been typical...

    If I saw 80 MB/sec on network disks I'd fix the problem.

    Early SATA drives weren't that much faster than PATA drives from that era,
     
  7. AmanO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Mac Pro 4,1 6 core 3.46, 16 of 1333. GTX970
    #7
    That last part is true, for sure, but I am using an old PATA drive. If I were so inclined and was going to use this for a long time, I may buy a PATA to SATA converter and pop an SSD in there for the OS.
    I would max the bus out even with a crappy SSD.
     
  8. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #8
    Do you like your data? If yes, get rid of old drives. All of my PATA drives have been sent to eWaste - I don't want to use them.
     
  9. AmanO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Mac Pro 4,1 6 core 3.46, 16 of 1333. GTX970
    #9
    Well, that will be OS only. That leaves me 4 SATA bays for important stuff.
     
  10. Kaspin macrumors member

    Kaspin

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    #10
    There's 2 more sata ports on the logic board behind the fan. you just need a data cable and molex power adapter
     
  11. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #11
    Your BAY drives shouldn't cause a slow down, they're SATA 3.

    Use the 2 ODD SATA ports and run it up to below the DVD drive and get a molex to sata power adapter and use that as an OS drive. Get a small SSD. Maybe 256GB

    The OS drive will not slow down the transfer speeds. You can easily get 110MB/sec via gigabit network and a decent switch.

    Maybe run both GigE ports to the switch on the MP and assign 2 different static IP's to it so you can push double the speed when needed.
     
  12. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #12
    No, they're not. They are SATA 2
     
  13. filmak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #13
    Unfortunately no built in SATA 3 in the history of Mac Pro :(
     
  14. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #14
    Sorry I meant SATA 2. Which is more than enough for any HDD. Now SSDs on the other hand...
     
  15. AmanO thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Location:
    Mac Pro 4,1 6 core 3.46, 16 of 1333. GTX970
    #15
    Did not know that. Thanks. I just hope I did not fry the whole system already.
     
  16. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #16
    I remember on 1,1 and 3,1 that sata port is hard to reach, so you have to get angled SATA cables and remove something to be able to use it. Here's a search
     
  17. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #17
    Yea you basically have to remove the front fan assembly. It's not too bad, just a screw or two then it slides out.

    From there you can route the sata cables up into the optical bay. Using a right angled connector at the motherboard end is a requirement as mentioned. Power is from the optical bay Molex connectors, just get an adaptor.
     

Share This Page