Using Air for Presentation

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by gman901, Oct 8, 2009.

  1. gman901 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    I am working on a sales presentation in Powerpoint, but I want to use Keynote on my Air to polish it off and make it awesome. I am not sure if the location that I am presenting is Mac compatible, so if I wanted to use my Air to hook up to a projector to present, how could I accomplish this?

    If there is no way to accomplish this, would Keynote convert well with Powerpoint 2003?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Mini display port to DVI or VGA if hooking into a projector.
     
  3. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #3
    All you need to make sure is you have the right kind of video cable,
    mini-displayport -> VGA is always the safest choice, almost all (in fact, I can't find a projector that does not house a VGA port at my place. Some have DVI, some not)

    I have delivered multiple presentations in different scenarios, and the integration between Keynote and its presenter never fails to impress, esp. when all the before and afters are all die-hard PPT fans.

    Notice one small thing, bringing PPT to Keynote isn't all the same to starting all off from within Keynote. So if you are looking forward to deliver that master pitch, you probably may want to quickly redo what you've got so far in Keynote.

    Good luck at your presentation mate ;)
     
  4. adamjackson macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    #4
    Just adding my vote for DisplayPort to VGA

    http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB572Z/A


    I bought one of these and I've used it so many times. Most places I do demos only have VGA as the option. VGA and you're safe.
     
  5. coast1ja macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    #5
    Be sure to get the correct display adapter. The Rev. A MBA takes the Micro DVI, not the mini displayport like the new ones.
     
  6. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #6
    Thanks all! I think my wife's unibody MacBook came with a mini dvi to VGA connector. I have my ppt text only and will redo in Keynote. I hope it's pretty easy to make it look cool.
     
  7. stoconnell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Location:
    Rockville (Despite REM's plea.)
    #7
    Did you mean to type mini-DisplayPort? The original MacBooks used mini-DVI adapters (and I believe included them); however, I don't believe any of the newer (unibody on) products, which use the mini-DisplayPort adapters, include an adapter. I could be wrong on the not including them or maybe she picked one up at purchase time as part of a package.

    You either need to go to an Apple store and pick up one of these adapters or if you have some lead time you can order non-Apple branded ones from some places (e.g., http://monoprice.com -- I have both the mini-DP->VGA and mini-DP->DVI adapters from them and they seem to work and were a good bit cheaper -- just to point out there are other options with the disclaimer that I am just a customer and no financial incentive .. blah blah).
     
  8. jedivulcan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    #8
    I always keep a mini-displayport to VGA adapter in my bag for any instances where I might need to show a presentation. I personally prefer the Apple adapter versus the one from monoprice on the basis Apple supports their adapter with firmware updates and such whereas I can't preach about the third party adapter. Even in new lecture halls > VGA is still the standard connection for projectors or wired setups.
     
  9. gman901 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #9
    Thanks! I just picked an adapter at the Apple store today. My presentation is almost done. I just need to add some photos/pictures and add a little color to the backgrounds. I am not sure how to add some background color or textures... every time I try switching themes, it only changes the font schemes, but leaves my background white.
     
  10. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #10
    +1 would love to know (and learn!) too
    I was in exactly the same situation before

    AFAIK, there is no background option in Keynote, but Keynote can recognize backgrounds build from PPT
    the immediate solution would be, start a plain slide in PPT, set the background picture, then open it in Keynote and go from there

    again, would really really love to find out how to add background in Keynote :confused:
     
  11. scottkifnw macrumors regular

    scottkifnw

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Trophy Club, TX
    #11
    Not a problem

    I use my MBA first edition with Keynote all the time (actually at least weekly).

    I use a Dell projector, with the adapter for the digital output (sorry forgot the name) to blue VGA out. I plug the VGA into the Dell and bingo. Unlike my Windows machine, I don't have to boot the machine with the projector on and plugged in first.

    I use the Apple remote and it works great too.

    One note however, you may need to go to to the settings/display/mirror. Also, note that the resolution will default to highest resolution of the projector.

    Finally, I would I always suggest that you try your system out way in advance of a presentation to avoid a bad day.

     
  12. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #12
    I personally wouldn not use mirror to take advantage of the presenter's screen with timer and next slide preview

    Also, it is invaluable to have prepared and try hooking up with the projector before the actual presentation to avoid tech disaster.


    Good luck and all the best and your presentation.;)
     
  13. igetit macrumors member

    igetit

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    Snoqualmie, WA
    #13
    Hi,

    Can you tell me how to use the apple remote? This will be great so I don't have to use the only USB adapter with an RF transmitter....:rolleyes:
     
  14. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #14
    pair your apple remote up with your MBA, make sure you keep your IrDA is switched on :)
    or, pair it up with your iPhone/iPod Touch using Remote.app
    mind you, Keynote Remote is a paid app;)

    BTW, no one is answering the background image question?
     
  15. salv8ion macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2009
    #15
    Adding images to Keynote background

    To place an image on the background of a Keynote presentation, just select View > Master Slides (or grab the two line control next the left hand Slides label -- see attached image). This is equivalent to Slide Master View in PowerPoint.

    Now you can see all of the slide masters that are in use for the current presentation. Just add your images to the appropriate slide master(s) and send them to the back (so they don't show up on top of your text or other body content).

    Also, definitely test your presentation set up before you go live. I have found that the using MDP-to-VGA adapter with my MBA can be a little wonky in terms of selecting the correct default display settings for the external display. To deal with this, open the Displays preference pane, click detect displays (sometimes this will fix things), then select 'Gather Windows' so that you can see the controls for both displays (your MBA and the external monitor). Start by setting the external monitor to something that it is likely to handle -- I usually start with 800x600 at 60Hz -- and then tweak as necessary. Sometimes it takes several tries to get things working.

    Good luck! :)
     

    Attached Files:

  16. igetit macrumors member

    igetit

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Location:
    Snoqualmie, WA
    #16
    Thanks!!!
     
  17. drmalan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    #17
    It is fun to watch the Hotel AudioVisual guy when you hand them your MBA to hook up to their projector and they start turning it round and round trying to locate a VGA out. I usually let them ponder this for about 3-4 minutes before I tire.
     
  18. gri macrumors 6502a

    gri

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    New York City, aka Big Apple
    #18
    Though I have noted some delay between the presenter's display and the main screen with the slide but this may be my dated MBP. Initially can be irritating as you loo onto the screen and wonder why it didn't change, you click again and you end up to far ahead... Try that first if you are comfortable with it. It shows you the time on your display as a big advantage though.
     
  19. tsubikiddo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS
    #19
    my MBA is doing alright with the delay issue,
    sometimes it's just the transitions being too 'fancy' it took a little time to finish it's show biz:apple:
    otherwise it's all fine

    I also use my iPod Touch (1st Gen) with Remote.app as my presentation remote control;)
     
  20. scottkifnw macrumors regular

    scottkifnw

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Trophy Club, TX
    #20
    Using the remote.

    I whole heartedly agree with tsubikddo about checking your setup way in advance. Also, the mirroring isn't required, but I had a glitch with my projector and found that I needed to go into the settings /monitor to get it to work properly.

    Now on to the remote question. In Keynote, click on "play" icon in the menu bar or file drop down list. Your slide will display full screen. turn the MBA so the screen is facing you and use the right arrow to go forward, and the back arrow to go backward. Use the center button to show information at the top (avoid this as it will show up on screen). Hit escape on the keyboard to get out of play mode. Easy as pie.

     
  21. scottkifnw macrumors regular

    scottkifnw

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Trophy Club, TX
    #21
    Transitions/animations

    You can go to the slide inspector and and adjusting the timing of these things. Maybe that will help with the delays.

     

Share This Page