using airplay without the internet - possible?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by djneils98, Sep 23, 2015.

1. djneils98 macrumors newbie

SO i have an apple TV3 and a mac-pro and at home via my home wifi network I can use my lounge tv as an extension or a mirror of my mac - works fabulous.
    Now i'm a tutor in a college so thought it would be great to be able to use my mac or iPad on the classroom projector wirelessly via the apple tv airplay. Surely this would be a great feature for business people wanting to do presentations in clients offices etc?
    First I tried making a direct wifi connection between the mac and the apple tv. No go
    Them I got hold of an old wireless router thinking that would work but again no go (no way to get the router to connect to the internet at the college I work in so it's basically just acting as a switch)
    Does airplay really require an active internet connection to work? Is there any way to connect an apple tv directly to an iPad or mac?
    stumped and grateful for any suggestions

2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

AirPlay does not need internet, but the Home Sharing does. Even with a WiFi hotspot created from your mac (wire would be even better ;) ), you should be able to play back something on your Mac and then switch on the AirPlay.
    But you won't be able to browse your library from the AppleTV UI.

3. djneils98 thread starter macrumors newbie

thanks
    when I connect the mac and the apple tv via the switch (with no internet) the apple TV can see my files in iTunes and play them fine. But this is not what I want - i'm trying to achieve screen mirroring or desktop extension (both of which work fine at home when internet enabled)
    I get no airplay options on the mac or any iOS devices on the router acting as a switch (no connection to the internet)

4. priitv8 macrumors 68020