Using Airport with Windows from Boot Camp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by KenY909, Oct 14, 2008.

  1. KenY909 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #1
    How do I use my airport express with Windows XP using boot camp? I know that its not working because the airport is only connected to the mac side of the mac. Can someone please tell me what to do. Also if you have the right answer, also tell how to use the airport network with internet explorer.
    --Thanks :)
     
  2. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #2
    First ensure that you have instaled all the drivers from the Leopard disc in the Windows XP environment.
    Also update all via apple update in Windows.
    Depending on the encryption/security settings that you have your Airport Express configured, you just need to enter the password, but sometimes Windows XP doesn't recognize the characters like in MacOSX and you may need to enter them using the lengthy way, in your MacOSX you can check your Airport Express settings and it one of the menus/screens it shows you the other way of the password or network key.
    I am not at home and without my Mac so I can't give you a screenshot.
     
  3. KenY909 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    one problem..

    thats great help if i had a leopard. i accidently put leopard instead of tiger. anyway, i got boot camp by setting the clock to 2007 on the calendar to trick boot camp into thinking it was still 2007. Boot camp works fine with the tiger. My friend has a leopard and it's all the same stuff. Anyway.., how can I set up the windows side of the mac to recognize the airport. I downloaded Airport Utility for windows and put it on the windows side with a USB drive. I tried to scan for the airport, but it couldnt find it. Would it work by making the airport discoverable with other devices or something. Also, you mentioned about drivers, is that the mac instal disks?
     
  4. McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #4
    Does your Airport firmware is old like the boot camp drivers you have?
    Maybe Airport Express firmware needs the latest drivers.
    Can you get ahold of the leopard disc and get the drivers?
     

Share This Page