Using an 11" MBA like iOS?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by iZac, Jan 30, 2014.

1. iZac, Jan 30, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2014

iZac macrumors 68000

iZac

Personally I have a 13” MBA, but it’s hooked up to a 60” TV 95% of the time. When I do unplug it and use it natively, even that feels cramped at times since it’s not even a 1080 screen.

So I wondered how you 11" MBA users trade off portability with screen size and the limitations of running OS X as such? I assume the use of 'full screen' mode is much more prevalent among you, but do/would any of you go further?

Given the choice, would any of you login directly to the Launchpad environment and default ALL apps to run seamlessly in full screen mode? Basically running the machine much more akin to the iOS or even metro experience?

Following that train of thought, I’m interested to know if there is any way to achieve that kind of environment now, with plugins and utilities?

I know it may seem ridiculous to somehow try and limit the OS X experience, but it occurred that there may be many people, who may be more comfortable in the iOS environment – hence the introduction of the Launchpad and full screen apps in the first place.

2. Abazigal macrumors 604

Abazigal

I have an 11" air, and I usually use my apps in full screen mode. I typically run safari, Mail, Evernote, and the various iWork's software this way. As for the other apps which don't really benefit from a larger screen (iMessage, Finder win multiple tabs, preview), I just cluster them together, using F3 to select the app I need, or sorting them out amongst 2-3 desktops.

I don't really use launchpad though. If I need to fire up an app, I either use finder (cmd+spacebar) or the programs folder.

I don't really feel the screen is cramped, as the apps themselves are fairly optimized for such a screen display. For example, unlike office, iWork's apps moves the toolbars to the side, preserving precious vertical screen estate.