Using an A1784 7 Plus in Hong Kong

Bravoroni

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
5
0
Hey guys

I need some advice. I was on vacation in Europe and received an iPhone 7 plus (A1784) as a gift. I live in Hong Kong and will be returning home in a few days. My question is if this model will work fine with all the cellular / lte bands in Hong Kong?

As far as I know HK uses 1800 / 2600 only and no CDMA. I am my no means an expert. If anyone with more knowledge about cellular bands frequencies could help me out I would greatly appreciate it.

Also I'm aware that the model I have (A1784) uses the Intel model. Would I notice any major differences when using it in Hong Kong. The model which is being sold in Hong Kong is the A16 qualcomm model... But I'm not sure if there would be any benefit as to my knowledge hk does not have and CDMA bands.

Someone please give me some advice. Should I quickly try and sell this A1784 version I got as a gift here in Europe and then buy a A16 version when I get back to Hong Kong? Or will there be no real noticeable difference? Thanks!
 

Bravoroni

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
5
0
As long as the carrier you will be using in HK is GSM, you will be fine.
HI thanks for your quick reply. The carrier I use is called 'Three" and is owned by Hutchinson Telecom. Again I'm not very experienced when it comes to cellular bands and stuff. But as far as I know from searching Google it should be using a GSM 900/1800 Mhz network and 4G LTE 1800/2600Mhz.

Would there be any major negative points of having the Intel version vs the qualcomm version? Or would that only be an issue if I had access to CDMA bands? Would I notice a big difference in performance in lte speed with normal real world usage?

Thanks again!
 

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
9,218
1,584
HI thanks for your quick reply. The carrier I use is called 'Three" and is owned by Hutchinson Telecom. Again I'm not very experienced when it comes to cellular bands and stuff. But as far as I know from searching Google it should be using a GSM 900/1800 Mhz network and 4G LTE 1800/2600Mhz.

Would there be any major negative points of having the Intel version vs the qualcomm version? Or would that only be an issue if I had access to CDMA bands? Would I notice a big difference in performance in lte speed with normal real world usage?

Thanks again!
Model A1784*
FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
 

Bravoroni

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
5
0
Model A1784*
FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30)
TD-LTE (Bands 38, 39, 40, 41)
UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
Sorry to he such a newbie but I really don't understand those numbers. I can see it supports GSM 900 / 1800 mhz so I guess that means it should be fine for voice calls. But what about LTE?

And would having the qualcomm version with CDMA have any benefit when being used in Hong Kong?
 

bufffilm

Suspended
May 3, 2011
4,226
2,496
Sorry to he such a newbie but I really don't understand those numbers. I can see it supports GSM 900 / 1800 mhz so I guess that means it should be fine for voice calls. But what about LTE?

And would having the qualcomm version with CDMA have any benefit when being used in Hong Kong?
You're fine.

Having the Qualcomm radio won't benefit you in HK. Take the 7+ and use it there.

The end.
 

superss94

macrumors member
Sep 21, 2016
40
25
Sorry to he such a newbie but I really don't understand those numbers. I can see it supports GSM 900 / 1800 mhz so I guess that means it should be fine for voice calls. But what about LTE?

And would having the qualcomm version with CDMA have any benefit when being used in Hong Kong?
It will work with all LTE bands that 3 has deployed in HK, be happy with your phone lol
 

Bravoroni

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 23, 2016
5
0
It will work with all LTE bands that 3 has deployed in HK, be happy with your phone lol
Thanks guys that's a huge relief. I actually got the iphone 7 plus as a gift here in Europe. Because I was using the Note 7 before. As I'm sure you all have heard traveling with it was a nightmare and it was completely banned from all flights. So I actually turned it into Samsung in Europe and got the iphone 7 as a gift. I was so worried I was gonna have an other issue with my phone again.
 

thadoggfather

macrumors G4
Oct 1, 2007
10,835
7,688
Thanks guys that's a huge relief. I actually got the iphone 7 plus as a gift here in Europe. Because I was using the Note 7 before. As I'm sure you all have heard traveling with it was a nightmare and it was completely banned from all flights. So I actually turned it into Samsung in Europe and got the iphone 7 as a gift. I was so worried I was gonna have an other issue with my phone again.
I used 3 in Austria for 4 months back in 2010.

Had an ultrasn0w unlocked iphone4 just before leaving from there,

3 or Dreis in German haha is a fantastic carrier ! Was so cheap for prepaid lots of minutes and decent data plan. I know they're based out of HK too