Using an HDTV as a computer display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by millsy, May 25, 2007.

  1. millsy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere in time/space
    #1
    I just got a new samsung 32" HDTV and it is "PC Compatible", and I understand that I will probably need a DVI to HDMI converter to plug it in, but how would a 15" MBP fend in running this as a display to occasionally use when I'm not using it as a TV or to play my xbox 360 into. Anyone have any experience with the resolution and such using an HDTV similiar in size as an external display for the MBP?
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    i would not like it at all. the resolution would be annoying

    theres a reason why computer monitors that big are crazy expensive and high resolution is one of the reasons
     
  3. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #3
    believe it or not but your macbook pro's display has a higher resolution than your hdtv. though you'd be moving from 15" to 32", you'd actually be losing screen real estate.
     
  4. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    I've used my 32" LCD TV as my display, and its not the resolution that bothers me (1360x768), but the brightness. Yep, brightness. While my TV has a brightness setting, TVs are meant to be much brighter than a normal display, and even the lowest setting can strain your eyes big time.

    Oh yeah, and everything looks HUGE. ;)
     
  5. maladroit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    #5
    Samsung...

    Millsy--

    I also have the new 32 inch samsung that's computer compatible, and I have the monitor cable for it. I have to say when I hook up my macbook to the tv, the colors are way off. I haven't really had time to tweak the colors drastically on the TV, but I've put a few minutes into it and the TV always looks really green (regardless of if I hook a PC or my mac into it).
     

Share This Page