Using an iMac as a display for console gaming

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Iscariot, Aug 17, 2007.

  1. Iscariot macrumors 68030

    Iscariot

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronteazy
    #1
    I know that Elgato Systems makes a number of external TV tuners that make it theoretically possible to connect a console to an iMac or MacBook. However, I'm concerned that this may result in a performance hit. Does anyone have any experience in using these devices with any of the current gen consoles?
     
  2. Iscariot thread starter macrumors 68030

    Iscariot

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Location:
    Toronteazy
    #2
    Why good sir, I'd like to know too! You're as cunning as you are good looking.
     
  3. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Search is your friend; there are a couple of threads regarding the EyeTV and consoles....
     
  4. IBitePrettyHard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #4
    Bump.

    I'm also curious if anyone has tried the new EyeTV Hybrid for use with game consoles. According to the site, game mode features "no lag" or something like that. However, I want to know their definition of lag.

    For instance, it may have a 20ms latency response time...and to them they might think that's good. But for those of us who play twitch games like Halo and Gears of War...that would almost ruin the gameplay completely.
     
  5. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #5
    "Bumps. Posts that bring a thread to the top of the New Posts list but add no content to the thread (bumps) are not permitted. This applies not only to posts that say "bump" but to those with the intent to bump." Just thought I'd bring that to awareness;)

    From the various reviews I've read on this matter, there IS lag, but it isn't apparent to a degree where it becomes a problem, even in FPS games such as Halo.

    Wouldn't the cable used have an effect on this as well?
     
  6. IBitePrettyHard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #6
    Cable length does become an issue, but only with lengths of roughly 25ft or more. That is in terms of ethernet cat 5 cables anyway.
     
  7. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #7
    Remember also. You are not going to be getting HiDef image, so don't expect great visual quality if it's a 360 or PS3 you are using.
     
  8. IscariotJ macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    For those that didn't want to use the search function, go here.
     

Share This Page