using an imac as a screen for xbox??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jackmac101, Feb 2, 2008.

  1. Jackmac101 macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #1
    i want to buy some sort of cord so its usb or firewire or dvi output to av cables is there any cable i can buy so i can run playstation xbox on the iMac??:apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
     
  2. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    Xbox 360

    You need the EyeTvPro250.. It works great!
     
  3. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #4
    If you get one of these things remember there is no current system for allowing HD signals to be displayed like this on iMac. You'll get a terribly blurry image.
     
  4. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    EyeTv

    I beg to differ. The Eye250Plus is in HD. I have one and it works great.
     
  5. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #6
    this is correct from my experience. lags behind a bit too even though eyetv says it is good for games

    not really.....eyetv touts that and the hybrid as being great for games. this is wrong. while it works it isnt the best



    your best bet is to get an adapter that runs component to a vga output. or if you say have a 360, MS makes cables to hook up to monitor. looks really nice in terms of quality and gameplay, esp compared to eyetv. again from what ive experiences so take it for what its worth
     
  6. Jackmac101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #7
    Thanks so much i think i might go with the ms cable it may only be 30 dollars and they eyetv is like $200 or something???:apple::apple:
     
  7. Jackmac101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #8
    This cord would be it ey and i have a mini dvi to avg i think bought it to hook other screen up so that would do it??
     

    Attached Files:

  8. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Cable

    What software do you plan to use to display your xbox 360 signal. That is the main issue and EyeTv Comes with a great interface. Cables alone will not solve your problem.
     
  9. Jackmac101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #10
    Hmmmmm have no idea!
     
  10. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #11
    Xbox 360

    That's the problem. The Eye250Plus has has an onboard processor and is much faster than the hybrid. It lets you hook up just about everything you want to it.

    The cables may allow you to connect your xbox, but will not allow you to display the content. Just be sure you consider all the facts before ordering your cables.
     
  11. Jackmac101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #12
    hmm its tricky the eyetv is $300 and the cable is 40 but will need to search for something to display the 360 i might just search for a screen with pc inputs u can buy 20 inch with pc inputs for $400 so might do that thanks for your help:apple::apple::apple:

     
  12. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #13
    EyeTv

    Paid $175 delivered from JR Music World.
     
  13. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    Ebay

    I'd be concerned about drivers for this. Still, though, software for displaying is an issue to me.
     
  14. Jackmac101 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Jackmac101

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    #16
    said it comes with software for xp and im getting boot camp set up soon!?:apple::apple:
     
  15. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #17
    I was planning on buying the eyetv usb dongle thing, but read this topic and am now getting the pro one, as i figured it would be awesome to be able to plug in my xbox as well...but what cable do you need to plug the xbox into the eyetv box?

    Thanks.
     
  16. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

    neiltc13

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    #18
    You need a low latency video adapter. As far as I know, there are NONE which offer a low enough delay (from the signal being sent from the Xbox to it being displayed through software) with HD compatibility.
     
  17. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #19
    Man don't bother with it. Cheaper, with less headache is to get a separate screen for your XBOX...
     
  18. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #20
  19. srichart1 macrumors member

    srichart1

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #21
    Agreed

    Yeah, I would go with the separate monitor. It is going to cost about the same and give you less trouble. Unless space is an issue.
    I am, however, happy with my setup using EyeTv.
     
  20. wwwdotcomdotnet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #22
    Can someone please post a link to the Eye250Plus? I can't seem to find anything on Google except a link back to this thread. Thanks!
     
  21. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #23

Share This Page