using an iphone w/ PDA personal feature instead of iphone data feature

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cmbezln, Aug 15, 2009.

  1. cmbezln macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #1
    first off, i know that they are both the same monthly cost and really are the same thing just for different phones....my question is; if i just switch the sim to an Iphone on an account that has the PDA personal feature add-on.....will it still work just fine without getting overage charges and whatnot? :apple::apple:
     
  2. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #2
    there are threads on this

    but AT&T will still know you have a Iphone regardless if you are trying to trick them. with in 5 minutes of putting the sim in AT&T will see it's the iphone. ;)
     
  3. cmbezln thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #3
    i dont really see how they would know unless they read individual packet meta data or something?

    i know people that have been using PDAs on blackberry plans and whatnot, so im wondering if it will work

    i dunno :/
     
  4. sinsin07 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    #4
    Guess
    IMEI?

    IMEI numbers either come in a 15 digit or 17 digit sequences of numbers. These numbers can identify a handset. Currently the format of the IMEI is AA-BBBBBB-CCCCCC-D.
    • These two digits are for the Reporting Body Identifier, indicating the GSMA approved group that allocated the TAC (Type Allocation Code).
    • BBBBBB- The Remainder of the TAC
    • CCCCCC- Serial Sequence of the Model
    • D- Luhn Check Digit of the entire model or 0 (This is an algorithm that validates the ID number)
    Just a guess. Maybe someone else has a more solid idea?
     
  5. Ride9650 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #5
    Well, did you try it? Since they are the same price and all, why would you get charged an overage? I imagine it should work.

    I don't think ATT will bother with doing anything given that they are the same price, if they do its likely they'll just switch it over to a Iphone data plan instead.
     
  6. cmbezln thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #6
    for sure, i think im just gonna try it out and see what happens....ill report back here because i cant really find anything on google about this issue....might be good to know

    appreciate the help guys
     
  7. pjs21yankeez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #7
    Please let me know what the out come is, I would really like to do this because if I can get a 3G Unlimited Data Plan for $35 a month (PDA Personal) I would not pay for any minutes or texts threw AT&T. Instead I would just use Skype for $3 a month for UNLIMITED calling to U.S.. Since Skype normally only works on Wi-Fi, when you jailbreak it you download this program that makes Sype think it is always on WiFi this way you can make Skype Calls on 3G. For texts (I dont text alot) I can just use AIM or pay threw Skype. This Comes out to ONLY $38 a month for UNLIMITED 3G INTERNET and UNLIMITED U.S. Calling. So again please let me know if it works. Thank you. :D
     
  8. Ride9650 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #8

    ATT unfortunately mandates a voice plan in order to have any service whatsoever(goPhone might be an exception, I'm not sure). I believe the only way you could get out of it is if you happen to be deaf, which doesn't sound like it applies to you.
     
  9. pjs21yankeez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #9
    AT&T definitely sells Data Only Plans. We just are wondering if it will work on an Unlocked iPhone. :confused:

    The GoPhone SIM has been used on an iPhone many many times. The only problem is that there is no Unlimited internet plan. :(

    Thanks:D
     
  10. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #10
    It will work. Their system will send you a few "warning" texts, but in the end, they will not care.
     
  11. pjs21yankeez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #11
    What about T-Mobile's Total Internet Plan? The only reasons that I dont want it is because the 3G wont work on the iPhone (different waves) and its $40 a month, $5 more that AT&T.

    How do I get the SIM from AT&T, do I just buy a SIM Card from them? Or DO I need to buy a Phone with one in it?:confused:

    Thanks:D
     
  12. TwoBytes macrumors 68020

    TwoBytes

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
  13. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #13
    I understand the concept of wanting to pay less. Really. I do. But why do so many people try and work around the system?

    As obnoxious as this sounds - if you can't afford the iphone and at least the minimum voice and data plan required - then you shouldnt be buying it. Period. And when I mean afford - I mean pay without it making you uncomfortable or have feelings you're paying too much.

    Do I wish I could pay less? Sure - who wouldn't. But it is what it is. And I knew that going in. And if I wasn't going to be comfortable with what the plan costs were - I wouldn't have chosen the phone and/or service.

    And no - this isn't about AT&T. This applies to any service provider, phone and plan.
     
  14. pjs21yankeez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #14
    Why not save money?
    Why not get unlimited calling?
    If you unlock an iphone you are supost to be able to use any sim card but I want to know if I can buy AT&T's PDA Personal plan and use it on an unlocked iphone. Why not pay only $38 a month and you get unlimited data and calling? The only thing I need to know is if it works. Maybe someone did it before. I have a couple iPod Touches but I am trying to be able to use internet anywhere.

    Thanks
     
  15. pjs21yankeez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #15
    Also why not pay less while your using an iPhone
     
  16. survivorevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    #16
    i wonder the same thing, because i just want to get a data plan, no voice or text plan, i already went to an att store and i was told the iphone is the only smartphone that you need to get a voice plan, pdas are exempts, i guess it has to work, both have to use the same apn configuration for the data, but i want somebody else to confirm it
     

Share This Page