Using an iphone with voip and data package

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Derkatwork, May 5, 2010.

  1. Derkatwork macrumors 6502

    Derkatwork

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #1
    Question: I have an jailbroken iphone with no contract and no service to anyone. I was wondering if it was possible to use a voip app and a data only package to use the voip app like a phone service from someone like AT&T. There is a jailbreak app which tricks the iphone to think it is using wifi when it is using 3G. Is this feasible or even possible?
     
  2. zacharace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    Bexley, OH, USA
    #2
    I'm not positive, but I don't think AT&T sells data-only packages for iPhone (they might for BlackBerry, though). Calling them is always worth a shot.

    Hope that helps a bit.
     
  3. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    #3
    Order a Blackberry data only SIM and pop it in your Iphone! ;-)
     
  4. Derkatwork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Derkatwork

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #4
    Another option I htought of was (sorry AT&T) going to verizon due to a $20 a month unlimited data plan. Would this work (with the proper jailbreak steps taken)? Thanks for the input and helping me keep my bills down.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    How will you do that. The iPhone is not compatible with Verizon frequencies, perhaps t-mobile if you can live with Edge instead of 3G.
     
  6. Derkatwork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Derkatwork

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #6
    I'm a little new to the iphone on a different carrier game. I thought it was possible. If T-Mobile is usable, then I would need to research prices before deciding.
     
  7. mustnotsleep macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #7
    with which carrier? what are rates?
     
  8. leons macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
  9. Derkatwork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Derkatwork

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Location:
    Milwaukee
    #9
    You can do that? Can you then also choose whichever carrier is has the cheapest data only package? That would be nice.
     
  10. eng42ine macrumors 68000

    eng42ine

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Location:
    Running into a burning building...
    #10
    No, you can only use T-Mobile or AT&T, both of which use a GSM network. Verizon and Sprint use a CDMA network, the two are not compatible with eachother
     

Share This Page