using an old macbook as server

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by satinsilverem2, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. satinsilverem2 macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #1
    Hi,

    So I have a late 2008 Macbook with 6gb Ram and a 500GB hard drive just sitting around. My Plan was to install Yosemite Server on it and use it mainly for a Time Machine destination and a cacheing server. does anyone see any objections to doing this.
     
  2. Cubytus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #2
    I don't see why it wouldn't work, except because of Yosemite's poor compatibility.
     
  3. DEFabio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    #3
    You'll be able to use your MB as a server as is. However, I don't think you will be able to upgrade to Yosemite. I will have to double check on Yosemite's compatibility.
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    If the Mac supports Mavericks it'll support Yosemite.
     
  5. satinsilverem2 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    satinsilverem2

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    #5
    Ive been running Yosemite on it since the first dev release so that issue is fine. my only concern with it is expandable storage. being an older computer the only external bus is USB 2.0. I think for Time Machine backups this would be fine but slow. but with the other services would i notice a serious slowdown.
     
  6. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #6


    USB 2.0 is fine there for basic Time Machine backups. Though, to make this machine a good server on the network I recommend that you place it where you can plug it in via Ethernet.
     
  7. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #7
    to add to that the USB2 bus bandwidth is more than enough to completely saturate a single Ethernet connection...
     
  8. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #8
    No it's not.
    USB2 - typically 30MB/sec
    AFP over Gigabit Ethernet- typically 85-90MB/sec
     
  9. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #9
    Yep. thanks for that i don't know why but i always thought that its about 150MB/s

    to OP, Sorry about the misinformation... :eek:
     
  10. Cubytus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    #10
    You were probably used to cheap computers that falsely claim support Gigabit Ethernet. In reality, those don't have a dedicated internal controller for cost reasons, instead relying on a USB2.0 to Gigabit Ethernet bridge that's of course limited by USB 2.0 bandwidth.
     
  11. mvmanolov macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    #11
    no actually that isn't it. i think i just had the wrong impression... :(
    embarrassing, i know but...
     

Share This Page