Using ATT BlackBerry SIM in iPhone 2G and 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by krimedog, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. krimedog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I currently have ATT BlackBerry SIM card in an unlocked 2G iPhone. It's working perfectly but I'd like GPS 3G and a better speakerphone. I'm on a BlackBerry 8800 service plan (phone does not have 3G).

    I just purchased a 3G iPhone that I'm planning on unlocking as well (with New Years release or with a Turbo Sim). Will the 3G high-speed service be available to me through my BlackBerry service plan? Or will I need to figure out a way to upgrade the BlackBerry plan to a 3G plan? Probably more an AT&T question than iPhone, but I appreciate any advice/knowledge on the issue.


    Thanks,

    K
     
  2. Robby9279 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    #2
    You'll need to add a data plan.
     
  3. krimedog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #3
    I have a data plan already . Just wondering if Data plans for BlackBerry's are 2G/3G specific.
     
  4. mrtune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #4
    No they are not. You will get 3G speed, as long as it's available in your area.
     
  5. krimedog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #5
    NICE! Thanks for the reply. Can't wait for 3G speed and an unlocked iPhone 3G.
     
  6. calvy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    #6
    And don't be shocked when you get that text message from AT&T letting you know they've caught on to your cunning little plan.
     
  7. aneftp macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #7
    Why are you waiting for an unlock iPhone 3g. As long as you have an active ATT sim card, just place it in the iPhone 3g and it will work. The iPhone 3g activation process is completly different than the original iPhone. The original iPhone tried to lock on ATT sim into each phone. Whereas an activated iPhone 3g accepts all ATT sim


    As for the blackberry data plan, just keep it. You may get a few text messages from ATT telling you u are one the wrong data plan but you are paying $30 for a BIS anyways and ATT is not losing any money from you

    I believe the only reason ATT requires the specific $30 iPhone data plan as opposed to a generic $30 smartphone data plan is purely for marketing and record keeping. They alone with Apple can produce graphs to their shareholders how much money they are making with the specific $30 iPhone plan.
     
  8. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #8
    It's true. When I bought my BlackBerry curve a few months ago, I switched sims with my iPhone. The very next day, I got the SMS from AT&T warning me that I was using a sim from another phone in my iPhone and that to avoid further charges, to change it back or call to change plans.

    They monitor IMEI numbers. http://www.howardforums.com/printthread.php?t=1435644
     
  9. kinkster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #9
    Hmm..any reason not to just switch over to the iphone plan?
     
  10. krimedog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #10
    Work BlackBerry

    It's my work BlackBerry. I had an iPhone plan until work gave me a BlackBerry. So they pay for the plan. How much is the charge for using the iPhone 3G? I don't think they'll want to change because its a corporate account.
     
  11. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #11
    Plans cost about the same. The BlackBerry Internet Service is $30 just like the iPhone data plan.
     
  12. mrtune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #12
    The reason they are named different is due to features available. On the blackberry plan, they setup BIS for you to use. On the iPhone plan, you get visual voicemail.

    I get the same text when I switch from my blackberry to my iPhone (I have a blackberry data plan). I don't even worry about it. Data plan pricing is the same anyways. I simply don't get visual voicemail on the iPhone, but that's no big deal for me anyways.

    All the people who are worried, worry not. As far as plan pricing and sim cards are concerned, the iPhone 3G is no longer special (like the original was). Treat it like any other AT&T phone. To prove my point, when my gf's phone wasn't working right, I loaned her my iPhone 3G to use temporarily. Worked just fine. Her sim came from her blackberry. My iPhone 3G is not unlocked or jailbroken. It's 100% factory with the latest software on it.
     
  13. krimedog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #13
    Interesting. So I just bought an iPhone with 2.1 due to the software unlock coming out. But I won't even need it?

    iPhone 3G doesn't need to be activated with iTunes? Is that correct?
     
  14. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #14
    Usually, the 3G phone is activated in store before you leave with it unless you bought one online on eBay or another site.
     
  15. mrtune macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    #15
    If you have it in hand and are currenly an AT&T customer you should be able to just swap your current sim card into the iPhone 3G. I'd try that first before unlocking it. Worst that will happen is that it won't pick up service.
     
  16. krimedog thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #16
    Perfect service. Thanks for the advice. I'm digging the louder ring and speakerphone volume of the 3G vs. 2G.
     

Share This Page