Using att iphone on Canada Carrier

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by apachehavok, Nov 8, 2011.

  1. apachehavok macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #1
    Hello friends!!

    I have an ATT Iphone 4 jailbroken running IOS 4.0.1

    I love the phone and have it running exactly how I want.

    Im actually taking a job in Vancouver for about a year (VFX work for film) and would love to just keep my phone.

    What would everyone here recommend? Is there a canada carrier that will work with my phone if I unlock it? (never unlocked before so im a noob with that) What are the steps? Will the phone still have everything working?

    Any help would be great! Thanks so much!
     
  2. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #2
    you might be able to unlock with Ultrasnow what baseband do you have?

    In Canada we have 3 Carriers taht have GSM networks that would work, Telus Mobility, Rogers Communication and Bell Canada
     
  3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #3
    Yes, if you can JB and unlock it with ultrasnow assuming your bb is 01.59.00 then you can use it on any GSM carrier.
    Just make sure you dont update or restore to official firmware cause you will lose the unlockable baseband and phone will not work with anything but AT&T sims.
     
  4. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #4
    cool. How can I find out my baseband? I have the phone in front of me here.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  6. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #6
    yes its 1.59.00


    So, I download that program from cydia and just run it? Then when I start a new contract up in canada, just pop the sim in?

    Thanks for the help so far
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    You first need to jb the phone in order to install cydia.
    Use redsnow and make sure you get the correct version.
    The install ultrasnow from cydia to unlock.
     
  8. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #8
    Oh the phone is already jailbroken and ready to rock. Its the slightly older FW, 4.0.1 but I have it exactly the way I want and cydia is on there and working great.

    So I install ultrasnow? Then just run it? Sorry for being a noob/
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  10. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #10
    Mind if I ask you to elaborate on ultrasnow?

    So i just download it and run it like a normal app? Then, remove my att card and add the new sim? Thats all?

    Thanks!
     
  11. Steve99 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    #11
    Just a small correction to the above info - Canada only has a single GSM carrier - Rogers(they also own Fido). Telus and Bell are HSPA (3G) only, they offer no GSM fallback. Telus and Bell also share a network so they have the same coverage.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Yes any gsm 3G network will work with an unlocked iPhone.
    Just because there's no 2G there won't be a prob.
    And to the op you just install ultrasnow from cydia, restart the phone and pop in the new sim.
    Once you install ultrasnow it always runs in the back. You don't have to manually turn it on or do anything after.
     
  13. awadeee macrumors 68020

    awadeee

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Location:
    Viper City
    #13
    I personally use Telus (HSPA) service, I think they're great. At my work we sell Bell (HSPA), Rogers (HSPA with GSM fallback), and Virgin (owned by Bell, HSPA). Another option is Koodo, Telus' version of Virgin. These providers are all options for you, just make sure you don't ever update your iPhone or unlocking will be a headache.

    In my region (Atlantic) Rogers is garbage and everyone hates them (I'm not joking). Bell, Virgin, Koodo, and Telus all use Bell's network. I've heard that Rogers is pretty good out West (where you will be) though.

    If I had to recommend a carrier I'd probably say Bell as right now for $60 you get:

    - 200 local minutes
    - Evenings and weekends at 6
    - Unlimited calling Canada-wide to 10 numbers
    - Unlimited text, picture and video messaging Canada-wide
    - 1GB
    - Unlimited Facebook, Twitter and Myspace

    This plan is also available for $70 which includes 6GB as opposed to 1GB.

    and within the next month they're making it so that if you provide your own device (customer owned and maintained), you get these plans $10 cheaper.

    Also, Virgin is currently offering a plan (voice only, no data) for $50/mo which includes:

    - Unlimited talking Canada wide with no restrictions
    - Unlimited text messaging sent from Canada to Canada or anywhere in the world


    Hope this helps. :)
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Quick question but how do they distinguish usage for Unlimited Facebook, Twitter and Myspace? So they dont charge you at all to use those services so data downloaded and uploaded using them dont count towards you 1GB data allowance for example?
     
  15. gngan macrumors 68000

    gngan

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Location:
    MacWorld
    #15
    I am sure carriers have their way of knowing it. My old data plan used to be something like this too. I have unlimited data using safari but 1GB for any other usage.
     
  16. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #16
    wow thanks for all the great info!!

    So do I just show up to one of those carriers and say "just give me a sim?"

    Does everything "visual voicemail etc work like it would here in the US on ATT?"

    cant thank everyone enough for the great info!!
     
  17. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #17

    yes we have visual voicemail

    just tell them the situation you have a unlocked phone and what are you options
     
  18. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #18
    thanks for all the great info everyone I really appreciate it!

    Last question.

    What are the odds I would be able to keep my American number?

    Thanks!
     
  19. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #19
    I don't think it is possible. If you activate the phone in Canada, with Canadian carrier, you will have a Canada's number. I don't think there is any way around this.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Now you're asking for too much.
    It's not gonna happen.
     
  21. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #21
    Hey friends! Arrived in Canada!

    Ok so my last question is this.

    Im running the old IOS 4.1 and would like to update to 5

    Is this advisable? is the latest one (one if I plug into itunes) unteathered jailbroken?

    Can someone provide a link to the latest unteathered solution?

    Then after I have IOS 5 and cydia I can just run the ultrasnow to use the rogers sim card correct?
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #22
    No.
    You need to create a custom 5.0.1 with redsnow.
    If you just update with iTunes you will lose your unlock maybe forever.
     
  23. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #23
    ahhh. Ok thanks for the save

    Any tuts you reccomend? I know the google machine works wonders but there are TONS of tuts and I wanted to ask your expert knowledge on which one is best.

    Thanks!
     
  24. apachehavok thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    #24
    Sorry for being a bother again, just wanted to know if anyone knows of a reliable tutorial for the latest 4 (not 4S) jailbreak.

    I see a TON on google and just wanted to see if an expert can let me know which one will work. I have access to both PC's and Mac's

    Thanks everyone!
     
  25. gotluck macrumors 603

    gotluck

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Location:
    East Central Florida
    #25

Share This Page