Using ATV3 to stream music while tv is switched off.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by AndYetNot, Feb 1, 2014.

  1. AndYetNot macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    #1
    Hi. I keep my stereo under my tv and as such am hoping to save buying an apple express on top of my apple tv. I have an ATV3 which is cabled directly to my plus net Technicolor 582n router which in turn is mains ethernet adapter connected to my iMac (2011) upstairs. I have been assured by Apple directly that the most recent ATV will stream music, similar to how the express operates, by using a the digital optical connector. Heres the catch; my stereo does NOT have this connector so i am using a digital optical male to 3.5mm audio cable in order to compensate for that. It doesn't work, is there an easy fix i am missing? A different alternative cable? Or do i need to bite the bullet and get a Express?
     
  2. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #2
    What kind of cable are you using?
    Does your stereo have a digital input for audio?
    If it doesn't then you will need a DAC to get analog audio out of AppleTV's digital signal.
     
  3. AndYetNot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    #3
  4. robabroad macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    #4
    I think your friend is correct. You're going to need something to convert the digital optical signal from the AppleTV to analog(ue).

    http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?c...d=1042302&p_id=6884&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

    There are a bunch on Amazon's US site. So, I'd bet you can fine what you need there.

    And, the cable you need should look something like this.

    http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?c...d=1022901&p_id=3395&seq=1&format=1#largeimage

    In words, it will have the squarish connector on both ends.

    I can't vouch for the quality of these devices, but they should accomplish what you want.

    Regards.
     
  5. AndYetNot thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    #5
    Thanks. Those are what I was going to buy originally and then saw this, shouldn't have tried to scrimp on the fix cost. I feel quite the fool. Take care, J
     
  6. priitv8 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #6
    Despite the looks of the 3.5mm connector, this cable is an optical digital cable, end to end. So no copper at all, just fiber.
    As robabroad posted below, you need a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) inbetween optical and analog RCA connections.
     

Share This Page